Click to go to photo galleries
Forbidden Friends

Author: Anne-Marie Conway

Title: Forbidden Friends

More Info: See Shortlist 2014 page

You have sent us 36 reviews of this book so far. Keep them coming by letting us know what you think of Forbidden Friends on the Have your Say page!

 NEW  Is Forbidden Friends your favourite book on this year's shortlist? You can now vote for it to win! Just go to the voting page!

Suliat from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

It is a very good book and you never know what's going to happen next. rnIts about two friends that meet on holiday to Spain and become best friends. But when Bee finds out something that can ruin their friendship forever. Lizzy dad finds out that they're friends and forbids Lizzy to ever see or contact Bee.rn Fri 20th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Kakrah from Bacon's College said:

I thoroughly enjoyed the book, it's very intriguing and compulsive. It definately has lots of mystery in it, considering Bee's Dad dispeared, Lizzie's farther is very over protective because she's the only chid, Lizzie went through a lot of problems, Sadly her brother Luke died in an car accident, and so for Bee, she gets constantly bullied at school and expresses her feeling by writing poetry. The book is very tearful, warming, sweet and mysterious. If you haven't read this book you're totally missing out!!!!! Fri 13th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Wendy from Bacon's College said:

Forbidden Friends is simply what the title states. It is about two friends that are mysteriously linked through family members and terrible events that have happened in the past which I will summarise now. Lizzie’s late brother, Luke, was killed in a horrible car accident that Lizzie doesn’t know much about. However, she makes a new friend on her holiday in Spain, Bee, and things start laying themselves out. When Lizzie’s father finds out about his daughter’s new friend, they are suddenly forbidden to see each other again and the girls need to know why. ‘What happens when summer turns sour?’ – You have to find out! The author makes us sympathise with both characters: Lizzie for her dead brother whom she knew virtually nothing about and Bee, for going through a tough time at school but keeping all her emotions locked away, only revealing them in poems. Therefore, this book was really touching for me to read, if I was very sensitive, I think I may have let out a few tears! My favourite bit was when Lizzie and Bee left Lizzie’s father without warning because it showed both his firm, strong, powerful and controlling side, but also his caring side. This was a nice, tender touch to the book. Not only that, but it also gave the readers that Lizzie could be a bit of a rebel and go against her father’s wishes. I liked this because the thought of a shy character standing up for him/herself is a good twist. To conclude, I think that this book was touching, heart-warming and very enjoyable to read. I managed to finish it within a few hours – I literally couldn’t put the book down! Read it because you don’t know what you are missing out on!rn Fri 13th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 7

Holly from Bacon's College said:

I really liked Forbidden Friends because it was so fascinating. This book is about two girls called Lizzie and Bee who in the story became best friends. Lizzie gets home schooled because her father is over protective over her as she is his only child. However Bee goes to a normal school but she does get bullied unlike Lizzie. They meet in Spain when they both go on vacation for the memory of a very unfortunate accident that happened in the past. This book was similar to a book that I read recently and I loved it. The book had suspense too which urged me on to read even more until the questions in my head were answered. I would recommend this to secondary girls because it is a mysterious type of book. Thu 12th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Shekinah from Bacon's College said:

At the begining of the book Bee's dad goes missing and she really wants to know why then she remembers all the rows and then the letters. Then her Gran says their going to Spain on holiday what a crazy thing to do when your dad is missing! Liz has had a difficult life being homeschooed it wasn't the usual case of being bullied but her dad diidnt want her to follow in the footsteps of her dead brother and be friends in the wrong people. Her dad also has a bad temper which can leave her mum startled and with nothing to say and her angry, upset and alone. Its a yearly tradition to go to Spain for Lizzy, and she hates it. Liz and Bee first meet at the airport because they have the same suitcase. They meet again at the beach and they instantly are friends. I loved it when Lizzy told her family the truth about Lukes death and Bee's brother they could finally put the incident behind them get on with life and be friends again. This was truly a good read but a bit conplex and it would be scary for children under ten. This gets a 5 stars from me.Anne-Marie truely is a skilled writer as I thought I wouldnt like this book. It kept me in suspense wanting to read on and when I eventually got to the end I was sad to leave these characters who where now like my friends. I really hope this book wins she really deserves it! Wed 11th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Olivia from Bacon's College said:

Forbidden Friends is a novel about Bee and Lizzie, 2 girls who met during their holiday to Spain. However, when their holiday gets to an end, their friendship disappears and so it’s forbidden. But what seems to be the problem? Their brothers are involved in both situations. My interests about this book, is the tragedy that occurs in both the situations. For some reason their stories link together; this make me think that this story has many narrative hooks that hooks me into the book. Wed 11th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Stephanie from Bacon's College said:

Forbidden Friends took me by surprise as I started reading it. I gave this book a 4 ½ stars out of 5 because the book contained drama e.g both the main characters families didn’t like each other what caused friendship between the two main characters Lizzie and Bee. It makes the book more interesting for a reader around the age of 10-12 because we get to read about two different people but in their point of view in several of the chapters. Some people may not have enjoyed the book but others may agree that this book is good. The aspect of this book was that 2 girls would become friends even though they shouldn’t be as of their family background but in the end they do. Wed 11th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Mayssa from Bacon's College said:

This book was about a girl named Lizzie who is fed up of going to the same hotel same beach same place every way. The holiday was a way her older brother who died tragically on the first family holiday when she was aged three years old. Her dad controls everything what she does; what she reads; and who she’s friends with. All of a sudden when she goes on holiday she realizes that her father is absent and didn’t come with her and her mother. Lizzie sees this as an opportunity and makes friends with Bee. Bee is a completely different character who hates school because everybody hates teases her because she likes to read. Then comes the holidays and she goes on holiday with her mum and Nan. Bee instantly likes Lizzie and they explore Spain together. My personal view of the book was that it was very interesting and I thought it would end in a completely different way. Wed 11th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Dolapo from Bacon's College said:

A really exciting and intriguing book with lots of narrative hooks that made me want to read more.The main characters Lizzie and Bee are long lost friends who meet each other again in Spain on a beach. They click together so easily maybe because they have met before when they were really young but weren’t able to remember. Lizzie is a homeschooled girl with a very strict dad. She had a big brother that died in an accident that she does not know all the details of. Bee is a smart girl that goes to a good school where she is bullied. Also she has an older brother called Aden who rarely visits as a result of him fighting with his father. Wed 11th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Kane from Bacon's College said:

The plot is about 2 girls, Lizzie and Bee, who during their holiday in Spain meet but when their holiday draws to a close they are forbidden from seeing each other. What could be the reason? Why are both of their brothers involved? What happened?... My opinions of the two main characters are; Bee is too persistent of her mum telling her the problems but is still caring. She sometimes does not consider her mother's feelings. She doesn’t think that her mum might have her reasons. Despite all her flaws she does have her strengths. Lizze however is more caring. She cares about her mum a lot more. But, in the book, on the day of her brother’s anniversary (he died) she became inconsiderate and cruel to her. In my opinion Lizzie is way better character than Bee. The book overall is excellent. It has a wide range of vocabulary. I would recommend this book from the ages of 8. Wed 11th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Linda from Bacon's College said:

The plot of this book was that Lizzie and Bee were kept away from seeing each other and they want to know why. For me, this book was the most interesting book out of the Southwark Book Award titles. This book was really lively and exciting because the plot included death, and also because there were complications in it. The complication was that Lizzie and Bee were best friends however somebody killed Lizzie’s brother, Aaron. This answers the 2 questions in the blurb: Is Lizzie an only child? Why has Bee’s dad disappeared? For me, there aren’t any negatives about this book and I really enjoyed it. I would recommend this book to kids throughout any age. I wouldn’t recommend this book to people who love fantasy type of books seeing this as this is not a fantasy type of book and mythical. Wed 11th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Enite from Bacon's College said:

In my opinion 'Forbidden Friends' was an extremely engaging and intriguing book about true friends and the difficulty they had just to be together with the only person that understood them. Their fathers made it problematic to see each other because of the never ending rivalry between themselves. Furthermore, the two main characters Bee and Lizzie couldnt be more alike; they are both sweet, forlorn, lonely girls that had no friends and felt they didnt fit in-until they met each other. They just happened to meet by fate and chance. Without each other they would have stayed their shy, self-conscious selves. To be honest, I fell in love with their characters instantly because of their humility and beauty within. Books such as this really pull me in and make me understand the characters and makes me think of the struggles there would be to be in their shoes. Also, there was a mystery element in this book. The rivalry was caused all because of Luke's death and the fact that Bee's father took the blame for his own son. I found that part extremely heart-warming the fact he gave up his life so his son could carry on with his own. In my overall opinion, 'Forever Friends' kept me curious and upset all at the same time, throughout the whole book. I would recomend it for people that love true acts of love and true friendships. Fri 6th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Ben from Bacon's College said:

I thought the plot was intriging because it is about 2 girls called Lizzie and Bee, they are intresting because they had thought they had seen each other before and also I think they were supposed to be best friends. Lizzie is a home-schooled child who is interesting and funny. Lizzie's nan is very helpful and she is a caring person. I think the book was mysterious but also fun to read. I think it is also readable for students my age. Fri 6th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Jane from Bacon's College said:

When I first looked at the book, due to the title, I assumed that the story would be about friends. When I read the blurb I thought that the book would be adventurous. Forbidden Friends is about two girls, Bee and Lizzie, whose family have a deep secret shared between them. After a series of events, the two girls coincidentally meet each other in Spain and instantly become best friends. Once Lizzie’s dad finds out about Bee, he immediately tells his daughter to stay away from her. Does the dark secret have something to do with it? In this novel, there is a diversity of characters. For instance, Bee is a shy girl who is constantly getting bullied, and is full of fear. Also, Lizzie’s dad is mean and controlling yet extremely emotional. The storyline definitely gave me an impression of who to show compassion to, and who not to. I would recommend this book as it was my favourite out of the 5 I read. I think that this book is suitable for 10yrs+. It’s a great book that confuses you yet excites you. Wed 4th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Robyn from Bacon's College said:

The book Forbidden Friends is about friendship, family, loss and secrets. It’s intriguing, unique, emotional, and full of suspense. Bee’s Dad suddenly goes missing and then the next day Bee’s Mum says that he is at his brother’s house, but Bee doesn’t fully believe her. Surprisingly, Bee’s Mum and her Nan announce that all three of them are all going to Spain for a little ‘break’. At the airport, Bee goes to pick up her suitcase, but another girl (Lizzie) grabs it instead because they have the same suitcase. Bee explains that it was her suitcase and shows Lizzie her name tag and they walk to their flight with their families. Earlier in the book, we find out that Lizzie is homeschooled and her family goes to Spain every year to remember Lizzie’s dead brother who died in Spain. This book is very interesting and is probably in my top 20 or maybe 15 books. I would highly recommend this book to 10-13 year old girls; because it’s girly and younger kids might not understand the plot as much as older kids might. This book is an amazing book with an ending you won’t want to miss! Wed 4th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Pavanya from Bacon's College said:

Forbidden Friends is an awesome book! This book is about two girls named Lizzie and Bee, who meet in Spain and soon became best friends. However, their friendship doesn't work out as perfectly as they would want it to go. They were forbidden to be friends. Lizzie is a girl who gets home schooled because her father is extremely strict but Bee is the opposite. Bee goes to a normal school and lives at home with her parents, who are hard workers and don't get much time with Bee. I really liked this book because it was interesting, I don't usually read books about friendship because I find them boring. However, Forbidden Friends shocked me a lot because I liked it. I loved the suspense in this book because it made me want to read on and on till I found the answers to my questions. I would recommend this book to girls who enjoy reading books about friendship because this book is based on a close friendship between two girls who are forbidden to be friends. Wed 4th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Victoria from Charter School said:

This book is really good because it has lots of adventures in it. i just read the part where Lizzie's dad has just come back and Lizzie and her mum are not really looking forward to seing him. I am wondering what will happen next. I have really enjoied reading this book so far and I am looking for reading more.rn Wed 4th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Victoria from Charter School said:

I love reading Forbidden Friends because the more I read, the more I like the book. I like reading this book because you can visualize what may happen next, for example; what will happen after Lizzie and Bee meet at the airport, what does the mysterious letter say for Bee's mother etc. Thu 29th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Sami from Globe Academy said:

Forbidden friends is a great book written by Ann-Marie Conway the author of Butterfly summer another AMAZING story. The book is inspirational and yet touching. It shows how life can be for a family like Bee's or Lizzie's. When you begin to read this book it will leave you on the edge of your seat wanting to find out what will happen to Bee and Lizzie's friendship. Just like Butterfly Summer Conway knows how to leave you breathless. This is such a great book that I wouldn't mind recommending to a friend! Or even my mum!!! This book has such a mature nature but written in a child like form.... Tue 27th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Trevon from Globe Academy said:

This book was good in a lot of ways. But there is one lesson in this book which should be known to everyone,"Secrets have a cost, but so does the truth." This speech is telling you that if you are going to tell someone a secret, you have to make ot promosing. I loved this book because it told me the true meaning of friendship. There was a lot of good characters in this story like Bee,Lizzie and luke. What happens in this story is that a girl called Bee is scared because her dad has gone missing for 3 days without leaving any messages. This upsets her and decides to call the police. While the police is talking to the mum about where would he go, Bee is wondering if there were any clues or what she could remember. Meanwhile in other places, A girl who is home schooled called Lizzie is angry with her dad because he shouted at her since that Lizzie reminded her mum about the incedent of how luke[Lizzie's little brother] died while the family was at spain... That is as far as i can go and tell you about this enjoyable story of hope, insperationand desire. Some boys would say "This book is for girls why would i want to read this girly book?" Well boys, for your information, this book may look is a boy and girls book. The author has made this book a bit sad at some moments,but if you boys and girls want a book with friendship, truth and happiness, thiks is the right book for you to choose. This book is also based in England. I would rate this book 9 out of 10. I rate this book 9 instead of 10 because there are some parts whats takes the level of saddiness to the heart with the ways they base this story and there are some parts i would like to change like for example, Iwould like to change that when Bee's dad accidently runs over Luke, he survived it instead of dying. To me, this i sone of the best book i have read in a long time. rnrnrnrnrnBy Trevonrn Thu 22nd May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Daniel from St Thomas the Apostle School said:

It was interesting. I liked it when Lizzie and Bee traveled and they saw each other even in England. Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Maisha from Globe Academy Primary said:

This book was great,thrilling and very well structured and thought out.I really enjoyed it.it made me sit at the end of my chair reading this book nonstop nearly about to fall because i was so into it! it created imagery in my head as if i was a character in it just because of the descriptive writing.The book's moral is that if you find your true friend then don't let anything come between you two that can ruin it. i would recommend this book to children aged 10+ as it might be confusing a bit. Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

idris from Globe Academy Primary said:

I think the book is exquisite due to the fact that it has lots of suspense and puts me on the edge of my chair as well as that it is about friendship but at the same time it is sad.Even though there are no pictures at all it is still a remarkable.The part I enjoyed the least was when his father abandoned the family and the mum started to get depressed.Other than that forbidden friends is a brilliant book and there is a saying which is nothing i perfect . Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Tia from Globe Academy Primary said:

Forbidden Friends is an interesting book. Even though I haven't completed the book yet, i have enjoyed most of the story. The book was slightly boring at first but then as i read through the book, it has became more and more interesting to me. I like the way the author has described the characters (lizzie, Eva, Dad, Mum) to give us more information about the way the character is. Reading this book will give you a good image of what it's like to lose a friend...The bad thing about this book is that the story drags on a little bit because the author has used mainly drama throughout the book . Other than that, it is really good and i would recommend it to other. Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 7

Shakira from Globe Academy Primary said:

Overall,I think this book is interesting at the start but when you get into it,it becomes more dramatic .This book is a great and inspiring book. I would recommend it to people from the age of 7-10. It is about two girls who have different interests and become best friends. It has a bit of mystery, its a bit too much of drama for my age...It didn't really catch my eye therefore i rate it 7.When i first picked up this book i expected a more shorter book.The story passed along quite slowly,which meant that there was a lot of pages.rnrnrn Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 7

chileshe from Globe Academy Primary said:

i like this book because its all about families and friendship. i like the way for each different chapter they had the same different names which is "bee" and "lizzie".They also have different writing, and when i say that i mean in text fonts they are slightly different.I haven't finished reading it yet but i already really enjoy reading it.rni'v had it for 2 weeks and so far i am on page 55 when i read it at school.i like the book so much that i sometimes read it at home in the morning on weekends. my favourite part was when bee and lizzie become friends which is usually what happens in real life . it is kind of sad how bee's farther doesn't want lizzie or bee to stay in contact. i recommend this book rnfor 9 and over because when children are too young they wont really understand.rnbesides that this the 2nd best book i have ever read,and i have 11.i hope you enjoy reading it as much as me. Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Tia from Bacon's College said:

I think that this book is really good because at the end of the first chapter it creates a sense of mystery about where Bee's father is. I think that this book is suitable for children in year 7-8 because it might be too much drama for younger children in primary schools. Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 7

Brigid from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

This book is a great and inspiring book. I would recommend it to people from the age of 10+. It is about two girls who have different interests and become best friends. It has a bit of mystery and it is very interesting. It makes me feel like I am in the book there with them and it relates to many things in real life around my age. It is also about two individuals bonding and uniting together which makes their relationship as friends stronger. It makes you want to read more and you don't want the book to end. It also teaches you many lessons, it is my favourite book and I definitely would recommend it. Mon 19th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Yousef from Bacon's College said:

Forbidden Friends is a novel in which two girls, Lizzie and Bee, meet on holiday, uncovering a ten-year-long mystery and bring a dastardly lie into the light. Where is Bee’s dad? What happened to Lizzie’s brother? How long will their parents keep the truth hidden? Find out, joining Bee’s and Lizzie’s points of view in this amazing story of friendship and trust. A pink envelope seems to be the cause for Bee’s dad’s disappearance, sending their family en route to Spain for a ‘holiday’. Every year Lizzie’s family go to Spain to mark the anniversary of her brother’s death. Only being three at the time, Lizzie doesn’t remember or miss Luke; much to her mother’s distress. The final days of Spain near, when Lizzie is told that her blossoming friendship with Bee must be cut. Bee is confused at the time, but with the help of Bailey, her neighbour, they find out the bitter truth from her brother Aidan. Lizzie’s dad’s explosive temper ignites, causing all kinds of strain on their friendship- will it survive? Forbidden Friends was a great read and full of suspense and mystery, keeping ahead of you until the climax. I relished every chapter and in my opinion, it was a grand read. My overall rating is a brilliant story and plot line. Fri 16th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 7

Victoria from Charter School said:

I think that this book is really good because at the end of the first chapter it leaves a mystery for where Bee's father is. I think that this book is suitable for children in year 7-8 because it might be to much drama for younger children in primary schools. Wed 14th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 7

Fatmata from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

This book is very interesting as it combines two girls with similarities and brings them together. It has a bit of mystery as it gives clues making you want to find out as soon as possible.It keeps you entertained so as you read it you don't feel bored and once you start you don't want to stop.I would recommend this book for ages 11+. It is a wonderful book that keeps you intrigued while reading making you not want to stop. Mon 12th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Grace from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

This book is very touching and inspiring. You can learn alot from it like not telling lies and sticking together as friends and as families.Bee and Lizzie met on the beach in Spain, and not long after the two girls became inseparable, using every extra moment together.rn Life hadn't been simple for both of them resulting in the holiday and their friendship became stronger and stronger. But, unknown to them, the two families already knew each other before a terrifying event – something dreadful that happened when Bee and Lizzie were only three years old. As the holiday comes to an end, Lizzie’s father makes sure Lizzie has no way of contacting Bee again.rnLater, in the story as the puzzle of the mystery comes together both families reunite together as one and try to settle down the past and start afresh. rnrnrn Mon 5th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Rachael from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

This book was so good! It was really interesting and it was a good mystery sort of book. I think people from 9-12 should read this because it's suitable for their age. It's all about when a girl called Bee meets a girl called Lizzie on their holiday to Spain. they are both having trouble with their families, they become best friends and confined in each other. Then it turns out that the two 13 year olds were in each others past and they didn't know it. So they go on an adventure to find the truth about what happened in their pasts and who killed Lizzie's brother Luke. It is AMAZING and I would definitely recommend it!!!!!!!!!! Mon 5th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Carlotta from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

I gave this book 9 out of 10, because it is suspenseful and intriguing but also inspiring. I think it is suitable for anyone over 9 years old. It improves your vocabulary as you learn something new, but it also helps people emotionally and mentally to become stronger individuals. This book has some strong themes in it. It looks very closely at bullying, even if it is from your own family or at school; it makes you realize that it is important to tell someone and not just because it feels good, but because we should be able to make our own decisions without being scared of someone judging or hurting you. Furthermore, Anne Marie Conway, made it seem like an unforgettable experience about a new friendship, a terrible tragedy and long-buried lie. She makes the reader take a magical ride into the book, so that they can feel what Bee and Lizzie think from each other's point of view. It is also a cliffhanger in various parts and this makes the story even more interesting, because just when you read that last line and you are at the edge of your seat, you turn the page and it's just a new chapter, that tells about a new day. However, the ending seemed a little bit rushed and it was quite predictable, but other than those two things I absolutely loved it! In my opinion, the best time to read this is on a summer holiday!rnGoodbye! Mon 5th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

augusta from Globe Academy said:

This is a great book about a forbidden friendship, two families who used to be very close but have drifted apart. Both families meet in Spain where Lizzie's mum is too stressed to want to remember about the past. A lie from the past comes past and back and it isn't at all what it appears to be... they have to chose whether they want to tell the truth or leave it behind. will they make the right chose or chose wrongly? This is a great story about the past. Thu 1st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

irene from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

This is a very touching story, teaches you that if you lie..you will always remember that you have done wrong, also teaches you that you should forgive and listen to both sides of a story before you judge them.Makes you so grateful that you have a family and makes you so much better behaved after reading this book, this is certainly the best book i've read! Wed 30th Apr 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Cinzia on The Terrible Thing that Happened to Barnaby Brocket:

The reason I gave this book a 5/10 is because it is not just interesting but the author have came up with a brilliant idea to make a book about a boy that is not normal when he\'s family is very norma...

Read more...