Click to go to photo galleries
The Bomber Dog

Author: Megan Rix

Title: The Bomber Dog

More Info: See Shortlist 2014 page

You have sent us 20 reviews of this book so far. Keep them coming by letting us know what you think of The Bomber Dog on the Have your Say page!

 NEW  Is The Bomber Dog your favourite book on this year's shortlist? You can now vote for it to win! Just go to the voting page!

Shelley from Bacon's College said:

Initially, I didn't think that I would enjoy reading this because I usually prefer to read friendship comedy books set in modern times rather than stories set during World War II- I generally find those boring. However, I went ahead and read the book because they say 'Don't judge a book by its cover'. I certainly found it much better than I expected! The story focuses on the friendship between a young soldier named Nathan and his dog, Grey. Their close relationship was very touching and although I don't like dogs much, after reading The Bomber Dog, I wanted to get one! The author shows Grey's point of view clearly. I would rate it higher if there were varied sentence lengths- whereas a positive point is that the sentences aren't too short and not too complex. However, due to the repetitive sentences, at some point in the middle my interest in the book decreased slightly. The writing style is similar to Michael Morpurgo though in my opinion, it doesn't exactly match up to his yet. Moving on, the Bomber Dog does have a good plot but I think it could have been written better, which is quite a shame seeing as I had high expectations from reading the synopsis on the blurb. Mostly I enjoyed reading it and I'd recommend this to younger children who like historical fiction. Fri 13th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Lily from Bacon's College said:

I think The Bomber Dogs' plot was action packed and moving at times. The friendship between Grey (the dog) and Nathan (the soldier) was so strong, and they were very couragous. During the book, the scenes varied from full of action to emotional, and even sometimes they both played a part. Also, the setting for the book made me learn of how they used dogs in WW2. The book was a good read, throughout it makes you develop feelings for the characters. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Michael Mourpurgo's books because this book has an almost identical style. Fri 13th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Tadas from Bacon's College said:

In my opinion the plot of Bomber Dog was interesting however predictable. I think this because there was a lot of action and there was a few predictable moments for example when Nathan was leaves grey the reader knows that Nathan will stay with him. I also think that bomber was good since there were moments in the book were the reader can’t help but be sympathetic for example when Grey's best friend was sent away and when greys friend wolf was shot. The plot was also a bit dramatic in ways since the reader never knew if Grey would survive when he is behind enemy lines. Bomber dog is also a good book in my opinion because it is set in the World War 2 setting and it is hard to write since it’s something you don’t know about in a dogs viewpoint. My overall opinion is that bomber dog is a great book, in some places predictable, but interesting. Great book highly recommended! Wed 11th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Cally from Bacon's College said:

I thought the plot was engaging I enjoyed this book not only because it was interesting but because its something I wouldn't normally read. The only thing about Bomber Dog is that it didn't really have a main plot linking the book together, it was more about Nathan and Grey's friendship. Nathan seems like a good person because he will always want what is best for everyone this shows he is caring and it implies that Nathan was brought up well. Grey is a good dog, he follows instructions and he was never afraid to take risks. In my opinion this book was a great book because Nathan shows a good role-model. Fri 6th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Finn from Bacon's College said:

My opinion of the bomber dog is that the plot is a put to sleep bore and that it did not intrigue me whatsoever. It was because of the lack of action that it was a slow build up to the main plot. My opinion of the characters are different, however, from the plot. Gray's story was tear-jerking and a story of the heart. My overall opinion is that this book was not to my taste but I recomend it to people intrested in history and for a year six class read if they where learning about World War 2. Fri 6th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 3

Ben from Bacon's College said:

I thought the plot was good because it was about a puppy called Grey and he had a owner called Nathan and I think they had bonded well until they parachuted out of the jet. Nathan looses Grey then finds him again. I think the main characters are cool because Nathan had looked after Grey and bonded. My overall opinion is that the book was interesting because it shows a young puppy growing up with an owner and getting stronger. Fri 6th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Peace from Bacon's College said:

I think this book is suitable for ages 9+ and for people who enjoyed War Horse then this is the book for you. When I read the blurb my instincts told me that there was going to be adventure. The two main characters are Grey, a German shepherd, who has been through so much ever since the day he was born seeing that he was born during World War Two. There is also Nathan and he cares about keeping his mum, Penny (his sister) and a German shepherd (Grey) safe. As I have previously mentioned Grey, he was born during World War two so he is used to all the bombs and all the crashing. Since he was born he has had very special relationship with a another dog, called Molly, who has been like a mother to him. But one day Molly was badly hurt and he was separated from her for the first time in his whole life. Then there's Nathan. A soldier who finds Grey and they have a special relationship even in a short period of time. A heart-warming book by Megan Rix that really expresses that phrase 'A dog is a man's best friend'. Fri 6th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Wendy from Bacon's College said:

The book is set during the time of World War Two. Megan Rix tries to give us a realistic feel of the world through a dog’s eyes. It is about a man and his dog who had created a very close bond but were parted unintentionally whilst getting ready to fight for the country. The plot stays the same throughout the book – Grey, the dog, and Nathan, the man, try desperately to find each other, going through many events until they finally do. However, as I mentioned before, the story is mainly based on a dog’s view of the world so the book focuses more on Grey’s events. The events were very life-like and this is good for the book since it was based on a war. My favourite bit in the book was when Nathan realised that his dog was being kept by a young Nazi. This was my most preferred bit because both Nathan and the Nazi did not know how to act around enemies so made empty threats and let each other live. Another reason for choosing this bit as my favourite part is because many real life situations can relate to that; young people struggling to weigh down their options so hesitate and let each other get away with what they planned to do. This certain bit had lots of imagery and I got a good idea about what happened at that precise moment in time. My overall opinion contrasts with what I have written so far. Despite having many good points, The Bomber Dog was extremely predictable, had that irritating side effect when something is badly written and quite disappointing because it genuinely had a good plot but it had been left to ruins. Additionally, it was written very poorly, the sentences were very repetitive, and in my opinion, an under-achieving imitation of Michael Murpurgo’s books. Therefore, I will not be reading any more of Megan Rix’s books. I would recommend this to someone who likes books set around wars and historic events, but preferably someone young because the writing was not adventurous enough for me. Thu 5th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 5

abopakr from Globe Academy said:

This book is an interesting book and also sad.It is about a dog called Grey and his owner Nathan.My favourite bit was when Grey and Wolf are swapped back to their original owners in the middle of the war.I would recommend this book to the age of 7 or more. Thu 22nd May 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Abdul-raheem from Globe Academy Primary said:

The book was interesting because Grey was a strong and brave dog also I could imagine how sad Grey was when he lostrnMolly.rnI wished that Molly ran away from its owner and went to Grey!rnrnrni think the bomber dog is a thrilling book and is loving friendship that is developed in such a short amount of time Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Chrisley from Globe Academy Primary said:

it's a really great book ,because Megan Rix has created an emotional book about a dog who has lost many friends. For example, Nathan; one of the most important people to this dog (who goes by the name of Grey). When a parachute mission goes wrong.These two partners get separated .After a while they see each other in this epic showdown against France and England i will recommend this book to ages 9 years and older Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 7

Diandra from Globe Academy Primary said:

As well as being sad this book is also adventurous because Molly (who was the dog) had a tragic car crash which caused her to be unconscious... Grey the partner of Molly had been extremely disappointed due to the fact that that Grey had no other friends to play with. Fortunately he had met Nathan who was his puppy trainer. Sadly the parachute jump Grey and Nathan ha been looking forward to had gone wrong just to inform you all of this drama happened in the second world war rages. Grey is missing Molly but like everyone in life you just have to move on.rnrnI found this book really interesting to read because the type of books i like is adventurous and this is adventurous so to me this is the perfect type of book for me to enjoy normally the type of books i read is less adventurous 10/10rnrn Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Amiyah from Globe Academy Primary said:

I think Bomber Dog is a thrilling adventure, but also a loving friendship that is developed in such a short amount of time. i was not sure if Molly or Grey would survive it was a breathtaking story,it was also a tragic story because the parachute jump goes wrong. At the beginning it was full of a suspense because Molly and Greys shelter get hit by a bomb because its in the middle of world war two the impact of the bomb knocks Molly unconscious grey her best friend whined and nuzzled his head against hers but her eyes did not open Grey was heartbroken... Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Rodrigo from Globe Academy Primary said:

I really liked this book because it has problems and resolutions all over the place.It also describes the dog with different adjectives always.rnThe way the author has set up the story is amazing.However, I would like this lovely book to have some pictures to make the reader have the image of what is happening in the moment.rnI would recommend this book to age from 7 to 100 because it is fun for everybody and it ends emotionally. Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Musab from Charter School said:

I felt involved in the story. It was very dramatic and I didn't know wether Nathan or Grey would survive. It gave me a better uunderstanding of WW2. I was suprised that when Nathan and the German soldier, Otto came face to face neitherof them shot each other. My favourite character was Grey because he helped grey when he was just a stray dog in dover. I think that this book is recommended to people in year 7 to 9 as they get a great understanding of WW2. Mon 19th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Musab from Charter School said:

This book was great i realy enjoyed reading it. Mon 19th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Carlotta from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

I think Bomber Dog is a thrilling adventure, but also a loving friendship that is developed in such a short amount of time. Whilst I sped through the pages, I imagined how poor Grey must be feeling, first loosing Molly but I also realized, how much Nathan cares and loves Grey. However I wished that at the end, Molly would also escape or run away from her owner to live with Grey and when she founds him, Nathan will take them both in, but other than this I loved it so much! I soon lost consciousness of turning the pages, it was amazing! I recommend it to anyone over 9! Goodbye and I hope you read it! Thu 15th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Musab from Charter School said:

This book is so cool. definetly the best book i have ever read. Wed 14th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Grace from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

The Bomber Dog is an exciting book for 9+. It is about the story of an dog handler and a dog that are never seperated. Nathan and Grey the dog set out on an adventure to find out more about the weapons/guns the Germans were going to use on ambush on the beaches of Normandy. Nathan and Grey’s job is to parachute down into Normandy to see what armor and defences the Germans had and report back. In the process of parachuting down from the airplane they lose each other and Grey continually tries to find Nathan. I thought it was a brilliant book. I really liked the chapter where Nathan and Grey find each other and get reunited again as one. Wed 7th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Nigel from Globe Academy said:

I thought The Bomber Dog was a great book and showed how animals can be really courageous too. Mon 31st Mar 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Cinzia on The Terrible Thing that Happened to Barnaby Brocket:

The reason I gave this book a 5/10 is because it is not just interesting but the author have came up with a brilliant idea to make a book about a boy that is not normal when he\'s family is very norma...

Read more...