Click to go to photo galleries
The Terrible Thing that Happened to Barnaby Brocket

Author: John Boyne

Title: The Terrible Thing that Happened to Barnaby Brocket

More Info: See Shortlist 2014 page

You have sent us 23 reviews of this book so far. Keep them coming by letting us know what you think of The Terrible Thing that Happened to Barnaby Brocket on the Have your Say page!

 NEW  Is The Terrible Thing that Happened to Barnaby Brocket your favourite book on this year's shortlist? You can now vote for it to win! Just go to the voting page!

Cinzia from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

The reason I gave this book a 5/10 is because it is not just interesting but the author have came up with a brilliant idea to make a book about a boy that is not normal when he's family is very normal.The books a boy called baraney brocket and he flots as his family doesn't approve of it so he goes on a adventure that starts at Brazil and going to different contries to find his way home and when he is in the hospital he doesn't want to be normal and he flots back out f a window with his dog to go on another adventure because he didn't want to bet normal.That's why I gave a 5/10 for this book. Tue 24th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 5

Kym from Bacon's College said:

I love this book because I love the emotion that goes around in it. I like that Barnaby's family does not particularly like him but he still goes around being happy. and he can FLY! which really catches my attention. I also like that he can go to different countries. Fri 13th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Andres from Bacon's College said:

"The Terrible Thing That Happened to Barnaby Brocket" is a book about a boy, called Barnaby, who floats. This might seem like something you would like to happen to you, but Barnaby's parents, Alistair and Eleanor, aren’t too happy about it, and they throw him out. This marvellous book is the story of Barnaby, his many different companions, and the adventures he has with them. The book is full of mystery, adrenalin, and most important of all, it teaches you a valuable lesson: Nobody is normal. I think that is a very wise lesson indeed. This book had me turning the pages like a boss and I recommend this for anyone, young or old, girl or boy, standing or floating. Fri 13th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Daniel from Bacon's College said:

The book was a book that i never expected to have grabbed my attention so early on in the book and i was quite surprised to have seen how i got hooked straight into the book. 'The Terrible Thing That Happened To Barnaby Brocket' is a book that i'd describe to be very adventurous and creative in many different aspects. The characters in the book were interesting characters especially Barnaby, who was the main character and had experienced difficulty's with his parents. From my own opinion, i think that the plot to this book turned out to be a book of adventure and the author was able to explore his own creativity through the character of Barnaby and his backround. The journey that Barnaby had been enabled to experience was full of inspiration having included the people that the main character Barnaby met that are considered to be "different" to the other people in today's generation or alternatively society. Barnaby seemed to be very forgiving and a mature character, especially with his attitude towards the situation involving himself and of course his parents. Usually this story isn't a believable one with children because they find that forgiving is hard, especially to o/elder people when they have done something wrong. I liked Barnaby's whole attitude and willingness to get back to his parents despite the fact that they had done an awful thing to Barnaby. I rate this book 8/10 purely because of the inspirational message the author is able to put across alongside the story running beside it. In terms of reccomendation, This book would be reccomended to anyone 10+. Fri 13th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Jasper from Bacon's College said:

I really enjoyed 'The terrible thing that happened to Barnaby Brocket' as it was very interesting. I found myself reading page after page as I could not put it down. The story line and plot is really good and I really like the characters i.e How barnaby's parents tried so hard to fit in and hated the fact that the son they gave birth to was extremely strange; He could fly.. and at the end it has a ending that you would not expect, its an extreme plot twist which changes your view of the whole story. The story is also really smooth and doesn't have parts where you wonder what on earth is going on, it is placed together extremely well. I really would reccomend this book to many people as it has a casual/adventure genre which I found to be extremely entertaining and time consuming, it also keeps you thinking throughout the whole story wondering what new characters or plots are just around the corner. In your mind as you read it you try and piece things together like a puzzle which has not been solved. I rate this book 10/10 and it is one of my favourite books from now on. Fri 13th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Cally from Bacon's College said:

I thought the plot was boring at first however after a chapter or so it turned into quite an extraordinary book, everytime I put the book down and stopped reading I wanted to read more because it was very engaging and even powerful in a way because the author gives out a very important message that our differences make the world interesting if everyone was the same it would be quite a dull world. Barnaby Brocket is a very inspirational character and considering he is only eight years old he still stays strong even though his parents were careless and nasty to him because he was different he was still happy. John Boyne seems like a good author and I would read another book by him, he is very original. I think any age group can read this book because it teaches you to accept yourself and other people. Also it teaches us that you should be yourself and never change for anyone who may judge you. Fri 6th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Kimberley from Bacon's College said:

I think that this book is very well articulated. I loved the plot, it was very emotional because Barnaby was hated by his own family, but he still managed to live a happy life. It was my favourite out of the five books. An excellent read. Fri 6th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Lily from Bacon's College said:

I think that the plot to this book was an inspiring and creative one.The journey that Barnaby went on was full of inspiration with the people that Barnaby met that are considered 'different' in today's society. Barnaby was very forgiving and mature character, especially with his attitude towards the situation with his parents. Usually this story isn't a believable one with children because they find that forgiving is hard, especially to older people when they have done something wrong. I liked Barnaby's whole attitude and willingness to get back to his parents even after what they had done. I rate this book 10/10 purely because of the inspirational message it puts across along with the story running beside it, John Boyne has written another one of his amazing and inspirational masterpieces yet again. This book would be reccomended to anyone 10+. Fri 6th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Christy from Bacon's College said:

Barnaby Brocket is an exciting book, the adventure never ends. Before I go on, let me tell you The Terrible Thing That Happened to Barnaby Brocket... Barnaby was born into a normal family, with normal parents who have normal jobs and normal lives. His family liked being normal, they didn’t like to attract attention. So when Barnaby was born and seemed to defy gravity, you can imagine what his parents thought. ‘”Oh Alistair!” cried Eleanor, throwing her arms up in despair.’ To Mrs Brocket, having a floating baby wasn’t a good thing at all. ‘Throwing her arms up in despair’ meaning that she’s confused and upset about the whole situation. Now they won’t be considered normal anymore. That tells you that Eleanor (Barnaby’s mother) won’t be accepting Barnaby’s ‘temporary’ power any time soon. Of course, it wasn’t temporary at all. Now that I’ve told you about Barnaby and his frustrated parents, I can tell you that this book is one of the best fiction stories I have ever read in the 12 years of my life. It has a lot of exciting stories within the big picture. He meets lots of kind people and makes new friends, who accept who he is. As a result, he decides that he doesn’t want to be normal, he likes being different. Barnaby’s warm heart shows throughout the book, and thats one of the things I like about Barnaby. This book has made me angry and made me laugh. So I recommend this book to all ages! It’s a memorable and imaginative story. My Rating: 10/10!! I’ll be waiting for part 2. Wed 4th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Amira from Bacon's College said:

I loved reading this book because it was very interesting and very original I’ve never read a book like this ever before in my entire life! I thought the pace of the book was just perfect because it wasn't too slow that it dragged along and bored me to sleep but it wasn't too fast that I didn't understand what was happening. I love Barnaby because he was unique and also because he loved his family very much even though what they had done to him, he still wanted to go back. My favourite moment during the book was when he went and met Vincente but I just loved the entire book in general. Whilst reading this book I've learnt that everyone had their own opinion and expectations of what normal is and I've also learnt it's good to be "different". I wouldn't change one word in this book because I think it was written perfectly. Indeed I would recommend this to people aged between 7 - 16. Not partially to one sex but just everyone really... :) Wed 4th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Grace from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

There was a family who lived a NORMAL life and had 2 NORMAL children but one day everything changed. Barnaby Brocket born in the same family , same mother and same father was different. He could float. He defies the laws of GRAVITY.rnThe Brocket family didn't want people to laugh at them and disrespect them so they had to do something about it. All they wanted was a normal life and they weren't going to get that when that had 2 NORMAL children but 1 Different child who embarrassed and ashamed them. I'm sure he didn't mean it, there was nothing he could have done he was born like that.rnI would recommend this book to the age of 8-9 because it isn't really for my age (12) it has words that a 12 year old know already and it would be really interesting for ages 8-9.rnThe book was really easy and you can predict what was going to happen next which was cool. Sat 31st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 6

abopakr from Globe Academy said:

This book is about a boy called Barnaby Brocket who is born with the ability to defy the law of gravity!I believe this book is a great book and is recommended for children who have read superhero books and who like adventures. Fri 23rd May 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

abopakr from Globe Academy said:

This book is about a boy called Barnaby Brocket who is born with the ability to defy the law of gravity!I believe this book is a great book and is recommended for children who have read superhero books and who like adventures. Fri 23rd May 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

jaabir from Globe Academy said:

There's nothing unusual about the Brockets. Normal, respectable, and proud of it, they turn up their noses at anyone strange or different. But from the moment Barnaby Brocket comes into the world, it's clear he's anything but ordinary. To his parents' horror, Barnaby defies the laws of gravity - and floats. this book is for people who love adventures and I would definitely recommend this book to anyone. rn Thu 22nd May 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Kirsten from Globe Academy said:

This book is one of the best books I have read. It embraces being different from the world's standard of 'normal'. And although people who suffer hatred from their parents feel as if no one else is going through the same thing, this book helps us see that even if you are strange in some way or another, there are millions of people who are being treated this way and yet they live productive, happy lives. Apart from that, the author has cleverly made the book very interesting yet hilarious at the same time. Not a lot of authors can do that. The Terrible Thing That Happened To Barnaby Brocket is an absolute must-read. Thu 22nd May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Shanice from Globe Academy Primary said:

I gave this book 7/10 because i liked the fact that Barnaby defies the law of gravity and the fact Barnaby didn't care what people thought. My favourite part was when Barnaby was going to be operated but Barnaby didn't want to be a normally kid so he decided to fly away literally .But didn't like the fact that his parents wanted to change the way that he is i would recommend it hope you like itrn Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 7

Salama from Globe Academy Primary said:

The story was amazing however it would be better if it had some more pictures.rnEven though some parts of the book were not needed, the author described the character with suitable adjectives.Furthermore Barnaby is the perfect main character as he is able to defy the laws of physics. I would recommend this book to people over 10 years old. The adventures Barnaby encounters are amazing;my favourite adventure is when he rnis lost in space. It has scientific language that makes it much better. .Don't worry I won't spoil anymore. Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 7

Joshua from Globe Academy Primary said:

I like this book because Barnaby Brocket goes on different adventures like floating to Brazil and travelling to New York and he needs sand bags with him so he doesn't float.During his adventures he met some people like when he floated to Brazil he met two ladies called Ethel and Marjorie and when he travelled to New York he met Joshua Pruitt who was an artist. I would like to recommend to people over 9. Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Sadia from Globe Academy Primary said:

This book is a thrilling,exciting roller-coaster... I am enjoying reading this book even though I've nearly finished it. It is a really good book which teaches us you don't have to be perfect. Which is true, you don't. I think this book should be recommended ages 10 + because some of the dialogue between characters get confusing whilst reading. In other words, I think this is a humorous book that everyone'll love to read one day.... Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Dorina from Globe Academy Primary said:

I am not usually a fan of reading, but this book surprised me with its imagination. I expect more pictures in books I usually read but this book is so good that I do not expect pictures anymore. I like the character Barnaby Brocket because he defies the law of gravity. He is also the main character and trust me if you ever read this book you will go on many adventures. I would say this book is for ages 9 and up because it has some tricky words for example "looming" and "veterinary". There are some parts of the book that will upset you but I am not spoiling the story for you! Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

adedamola from Globe Academy said:

i really enjoyed reading this book because of all the adventures that Barnaby goes on. my favorite adventure that Barnaby goes on is when he travels to middle space es a space walk. I would highly recommend this book to others. Tue 20th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Yousef from Bacon's College said:

The Brockets are an ordinary family, that is, until Barnaby came along. Mr and Mrs Brocket hate abnormalities; they prefer staying in the shadows, due to childhood events. Barnaby, their third child, is a borderline freak to many, special to the open minded. He floats. Weird right? Eight years later, Alistair and Elenor Brocket have decided they’ve had enough. Kicking out Barnaby, they let him float of into the distance. In the rush to get home, Barnaby ends up in Brazil, where his journey begins. Reaching New York was a great step but being kidnapped was not. Join Barnaby as he makes an array of friends, all over the globe and middle space. Barnaby has the chance to become normal, his parents jump at the chance, although Barnaby isn’t too sure… An amazing novel about discovering yourself and being who you are and that normal is overrated. Barnaby has been put down by his parents until he is kicked out, he is still able to forgive them and get back home, even if he isn’t welcomed with open arms. I thoroughly enjoyed this brilliant read, perfect for any age. Absolutely remarkable. Tue 13th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Carlotta from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

I would recommend it to anyone over 10 years old. It is about a little brave boy called Barnaby Brocket. To his parents he is weird and abnormal but I think he is special and unique. When his parents think that he is irregular, they decide to get rid of him. I was extremely shocked by this terrible action because at the start they seem like a nice and kind family, honestly it made me realize that this actually happens to some around the world and I don't think people understand how lucky they are to have someone who loves them. This is my favourite quote from the book: “Just because your version of normal isn't the same as someone else's version doesn't mean that there's anything wrong with you.” I think it's important to read this book as it allows you to see the world truly and not as a fairy tale. It also shows that sometimes we’re meant to have those dark and deep moments because later we can learn from them and then find hope. Little Barnaby goes on a magical journey around the world, with extraordinary new friends, people who love him for who he is and not who they want him to be. The book is fast paced and at times a little sad but it's a lovely story and I think that anyone who gets the chance should read it! Mon 5th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Cinzia on The Terrible Thing that Happened to Barnaby Brocket:

The reason I gave this book a 5/10 is because it is not just interesting but the author have came up with a brilliant idea to make a book about a boy that is not normal when he\'s family is very norma...

Read more...