Click to go to photo galleries
Rooftoppers

Author: Katherine Rundell

Title: Rooftoppers

More Info: See Shortlist 2014 page

You have sent us 21 reviews of this book so far. Keep them coming by letting us know what you think of Rooftoppers on the Have your Say page!

 NEW  Is Rooftoppers your favourite book on this year's shortlist? You can now vote for it to win! Just go to the voting page!

Ellena from Bacon's College said:

What I like in Rooftopers is that the character Sophie is an determined invidual and uses her aspect of character to find her mum in France. When nobody believes her Sophie stil looks for her mum. However I think that the vocabulary is not challanging. I think the book is for year 5 children because the book is easy. Fri 13th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Wendy from Bacon's College said:

The book is mainly about a girl’s journey through Paris, trying to find her mother but also escaping social services. Not only is it about this girl (Sophie) but it is about her friends and family since she has virtually two lives – rooftop life and home life. Additionally, it has a sense of modern reality in it. This is especially good for readers that are interested in books based on life around them. The plot is based around Sophie and her struggle to find her mother but she manages to go through a series of good (and bad) events until she finally does. Although it may seem that the plot stays the same, it doesn’t. The change of settings and contrasting themes help the reader to not only finish the book, but to enjoy Katherine Rundell’s writing and language techniques. My favourite bit was when Sophie and her friends that she met on the rooftops fight the Gariers because I think that putting someone in a foreign country and fighting people that she knows nothing about (apart from that they are bad) creates suspense about what would happen to the main character. The effect that this can have on the reader could be immense, hooking them to every word that runs across the page.rnMy general opinion exceeds what I have already written because it is a fantastic book that creates a lot of imagery in the readers’ minds. This book was very interesting, despite the fact that it was predictable in the end, and I think that this should be aimed at the ages of 9-11 because it had suitable events and appropriate language involved.rn Thu 12th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 7

Axel from Bacon's College said:

Rooftoppers was a very exciting book about a girl called Sophie who wants to find out about her mother and if she is still alive. Now in the beginning we find out that they were on a boat and it had crashed and she didn’t know if her mother was alive or not, so as they got into France she was taken by someone called Charles. Now the main part of the story that made me exited was how she was determined to find out, also, even though people told her that she was dead, Sophie didn’t listen and decided to continue to search for her mother, and then she saw a guy called Matio who get this, live in the sky. As the two become better friends, he helps her to find out about her mother. So in conclusion, the plot (and the book) was outstanding and if I were to have another chance to read it again, then I would, it is an amazing book. Wed 11th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Annabelle from Bacon's College said:

I really enjoyed reading this book although I found the ending quite expected and predictable. I thought that Sophie's personality made her very unique and different from all the other characters. The question that goes through the readers mind throughout the book is 'will she find her mother?' and having this question to ponder in our minds makes the book engaging and hooks the reader into the book. Overall I think this is a great book and I highly recommend it. Sun 8th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Sara from Bacon's College said:

This is my favourite book because I found it very moving how Sophie went on an adventure to find her mum. She finds one clue and decides to go just because of that. Also I really like how she brings along her guardian Charles, and he agrees loving Sophie so much that he supports her with her choices. I also really admire Charles for how he cared for Sophie, he took her in when she was young not even knowing who she was, or even where she came from. Another part of the book I really liked was when she met Mateo on the rooftops and how he has never been on the ground. She meets new people on a new journey and she makes new friends. I found it pretty funny because there were moments where the characters where funny, like when Mateo and Sophie first met. I have to say that I did also like other books but this one is definitely the best to me. I really enjoyed reading it. I would like to read the book again, I AM JEALOUS OF SOPHIE!!! :D Thu 5th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

jaabir from Globe Academy Primary said:

this book is a book which many adventure lovers will love.It is book were a girl ,who lost her mother, is brought up by man named Charles.Charles helps the girl to look for her mother.The reason why I picked a pretty low score was because the book was meant to having a daring and action packed touch to but for me it does not have a daring and action packed mostly because of its boring style of writing rnrn Thu 5th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 5

artie from St Thomas the Apostle School said:

This book was really emotional because of the way it hooked me into the fact that sophie lost her motherrn Wed 4th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Ellie from Charter School said:

I have read a little more of roof toppers and i am really enjoying it rnIt is a good book as its a bit adventurous rnI think when they go to Paris Sophie will find her mum. Wed 4th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Grace from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

This book is a very interesting and gripping. I would recommend it to 10-12 year old because of the words and description. I really loved it and it was easy to read and understand.rnPeople think that Sophie is an orphan. Which may be true, but Sophie can remember the way her mum looks and her waving for help. Her carer(who found her when the shipwreck was over) reminds her all the time that unlikely that her mother is still alive.rn When the Welfare Agency threatens to send Sophie to and orphanage because she thinks that Sophie deserves more than she is getting. Sophie wants to show people that her mother is still alive and that she can find her so she goes to Paris and trys to investigate, starting with the only source of information she has/can get - the address of the cello maker.rnShe later then meets Matteo and his system of roof toppers -They search the city for Sophie's mother before she is caught red-handed ,sent back to her home town, and loses hope. Sat 31st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

augusta from Globe Academy said:

this is an adventurous breath-taking book. It is about a girl who is found in a cello case by a man called Charles he then takes the responsibilty to take care of this girl. He names her Sophie. After many years a visitor or two knock at the door to say that they will be taking away Sophie as Charles cannot look after a girl of her age. They then both runaway to Paris in search of Sophie's mum. Will she find her? Sophie then meets who lives on the roofs he is called Matteo. He shows her how to climb roofs and then to discover the roof tops of Paris. Sat 31st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Sami from Globe Academy said:

Roof Toppers is an inspirational heart warming book about a girl, Sophie who searches and reunited with her musically talented mother whom has gone missing when Sophie was only young. On her adventurous journey she meets people that live on roof tops and teach her the good ways of life and how life is not only just a word it is a gift!!! Katherine Rondell touched my soul with this book and made me think about life in a far more better way!!!!! Fri 30th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Renee from Globe Academy said:

This book is about a girl who is found in a instrument case in the middle of nowhere and she is taken by a man who takes her in as his own daughter and cant let her go.rnThe little girl is always having flash backs about her one and only mother who is not around for her.rnShe always thinks and dreams about her mother coming for her. Read this book if you want to be touched by sadness but will it always be like this? Thu 22nd May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Noor from Globe Academy Primary said:

The book was funny even though i didnt finish the book i found it intresting from where i stopped reading...The book had many cliffhangers but it nice when i give it 100% so i like it and it would say someone should read this book and if you person likes cliffhangers you should buy or get cliffhangers roof toppers is funny and i would again give it 10 out of 10 so why i like that tipe of book. the book wich has so much drama was very funny along with being funny along with being funny... rnrnrnrnrnrnrnNOOR Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Vincent from St Thomas the Apostle School said:

I think that this book is fun and really intresting. I like how it is based on real life and freindship that will never end. Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Asma from Globe Academy Primary said:

Roof Toppers is a really good story even though I am still reading it. I am enjoying it. It's really touching how Sophie is desperate to find her mum even though others do not approve. I would usually opt for books that have pictures but this book is so good i don't mind that there are no pictures - the author's language creates a picture in your mind! I am really excited to find out if Sophie finds her mum or not. I would definitely recommend this book due to its exciting language. Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Noor from Globe Academy Primary said:

In my opinion I think this book is an amazing because it so sad yet also adventurous . it also has a variety of all kinds of cliffhangers. If i had to rate it i will say 100% good.Because of the description it creates an image in your head . Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Fatu from Globe Academy Primary said:

Roof Toppers is an interesting book. Even though I haven't completed the book yet, i have enjoyed most of the story. The book was slightly boring at first but then as i read through the book, it has became more and more interesting to me. I like the way the author has described the characters to give us more information about the character. Reading this book will give you an adventurous imagination...rnrnThe bad thing about this book is that there is not really good adjectives, all the author has used is boring adjectives such as black and wide. Other than that, it is really good and i would recommend it to other readers.rn Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 7

Ellie from Charter School said:

i think this book is really good. it is realy intresting, and i would recomed it to other people around the age of 10+. Also i think it really is only for girls. Wed 14th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Kate from Charter School said:

This book is amazing i had to read it everyday and i think it should win because it is so brilliant i think this book is for boys and girls because it is adventurous but the main is a girl i think the age range should be 10+upwards. Wed 14th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Carlotta from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

rnrnI really love this book, although I personally think the start is a bit boring. Anyway, it is an extraordinary, beautiful story about pursuing your dreams. My favourite line is: "Never ignore a possible!" It makes me realize that no matter how hard something is, even if there is a 1% of it happening, you still have to try. I have never read a story with a similar plot and I think the writer has a wild imagination. However, I thought that there would also be a love story or a dramatic ending but instead it was a cliff-hanger. This made it even better because you start wondering and creating your own ending by using our powerful imagination. I love Sophie, she is different from all the other girls and this makes her special!rnrnMarks out of 10: 8rn Mon 12th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

sheni from Globe Academy said:

This is a great book, its a sad but touching story, good if you want advice on finding your parents. Rooftoppers is a cliff hanging story so you don't really know how it will end you don't know whether its a happy ending: if Sophie admires her mother Vivenne or she stays in the care of her carer Charles who brought her up to be who she is now.rnThis book is also an inspiration to me because it proves that when you try to reach your goal you will succeed just like Sophie tried to find her mother and later in the end she does.................... Thu 1st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Cinzia on The Terrible Thing that Happened to Barnaby Brocket:

The reason I gave this book a 5/10 is because it is not just interesting but the author have came up with a brilliant idea to make a book about a boy that is not normal when he\'s family is very norma...

Read more...