Click to go to photo galleries
The Great Ice-Cream Heist

Author: Elen Caldecott

Title: The Great Ice-Cream Heist

More Info: See Shortlist 2014 page

You have sent us 24 reviews of this book so far. Keep them coming by letting us know what you think of The Great Ice-Cream Heist on the Have your Say page!

 NEW  Is The Great Ice-Cream Heist your favourite book on this year's shortlist? You can now vote for it to win! Just go to the voting page!

Matin from Bacon's College said:

The Great Ice Cream Heist has a really hooking plot to it which makes you want to read more and more. The book is really intriguing and amazing. It's also very funny and unpredictible. And this applies for the characters too. I really like this book and think it is mostly appropriate for younger readers. I would rate this book a 5/5 :) Fri 13th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Wendy from Bacon's College said:

To start this off, I shall say that it is quite clear from the beginning that this book is about a troubled person (Jamie McIntyre) who is accused of vandalising a local park. We instantly know that someone from the McIntyre family will be accused because the blurb unmistakably states that they are trouble, so if we imagine that there was a family like them in the neighbourhood, I can honestly say that most people would be blaming them. In short, we can immediately tell that this will be predictable. This book is about a boy who lives a troubled life, due to problems at home with his family. I must admit that it is nice to have a character that the audience can try and sympathise with because it makes the book a little less tedious. Then, a girl is introduced to him and they begin to have a lot of fun, breaking all of her dad’s rules. (I don’t really understand how they are suddenly linked together.) My general opinion is that the title is EXTREMELY misleading, as it was nothing to do about ice cream apart from the fact that they ‘borrowed’ an ice cream van to get away from family and close relations. In addition to this, the text was dull, unimaginative and it seemed rushed – as if the author was trying to add in lots of events but just ended up scattering them throughout the book (almost as if she gave up half way).rn Thu 12th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 4

Ayomide from Bacon's College said:

I thought the plot was very nice and interesting because of what the story was based on, the characters were ones you could relate to the author shows how to empathise with the character because of the McIntyre family problem: they are a down-right loud family... Eva is very sensitive and kind, although she has no friends that she actually plays with. The McIntyre’s son Jamie as a exception more a acquaintance than a friend. She finds other friends; her grandma suggested she finds some friends by going to visit her at her place. I recommend this for 11-13 readers because it is very interesting and understandable to how life is. Wed 11th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Robyn from Bacon's College said:

This book was boring, predictable and it has been done before from so many authors, I dont have much more to say about this book, but I really did not enjoy or even like this book Wed 11th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 1

Jordan from Bacon's College said:

Today I will be explaining my opinions on the book, ‘The Great Ice Cream Heist’. Firstly, let me be completely honest (and blunt), I didn’t like it at all. It wasn’t suitable for the secondary school age groups, maybe for some (no offence) immature people, as it was too unrealistic. Also it did not suit my style/genre of books. rnrnCharacters; were interesting but, also basic, a new kid moves in next door, they’re called, this and that, and the neighbours/their children get along. Eva: A daughter of a widow, she grew up without a mother (or at least I think), and has been living with her dad ever since, a first opinion of her dad would be overprotective, untrusting and too caring, and many people will dislike him. The girl, Eva is a shy girl, but further into the book she becomes more adventurous thanks to the aid of Jaimie Mclyntyre. She doesn’t have many friends, she really just likes entertaining her dad.rn rnJaimie Mclyntyre: A supposedly rude, rowdy and loud child due to his family being this way, he is also accused of vandalising the constructing youth centre. He isn’t as bad as his family, but, he’s bad. He’s quite self-secluded and reserved. Overall I thought it was disappointing, as it was for a younger age group and quite unimaginative as it was a very boring book to read, it was unoriginal and unsatisfying, therefore I am giving it a 1. I gave it a 1 as I couldn't give a 0. Wed 11th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 1

Esemehona from Bacon's College said:

The book was really good i enjoyed it a lot. Very childish in a good way and funny; it had a lot of adventure and things to work out in it. The disappointment is that it was called The Great Ice Cream Heist so I thought it would be like a massive Ice Cream Heist and a lot of fun but it was just like a love story between an average girl and a boy whose family is really rough. Apart from that I enjoyed the book. Fri 6th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Ahmed from Bacon's College said:

I thought the plot was fascinating because it showed that you have to stick up for your friends and the people you care about. The main character Eva, is a girl who never really got out of the house. She had noisy neighbors and her dad never let her talk to the family that was next to them. Then one day she sees one of them on the roof and she goes to see him without her dads permission. I think that this book should go to kids of the age of 11+. Fri 6th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 7

Hosam from Bacon's College said:

I thought the plot was excellent because I liked how it was funny, thrilling and heart-breaking. Also, it included thrilling actions at the end of the story which I liked. My opinion of the main characters is that they are funny, heroic and realistic. I liked how they developed. For example, Eva (main character) has difficulty reading and feels embarrassed about it. She is also lonely because her mother died and is a very quiet child. By the end of the novel she has a brave ambition to get her new friend, Jamie, back. In addition, Dad (main character) is very scared if he loses Eva because his wife recently died. And also, he doesn’t want Eva to be friends with Jamie because his family were trouble makers. This makes it difficult for Eva to be friends with Jamie. My overall opinion is that it is action-packed, funny and also imaginative and there is nothing I would change about this story. I recommend this book to young people, (10-15) both girls and boys. Thu 5th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Vincent from St Thomas the Apostle School said:

it was very intresting because it was fuuny but it also boosted my curiosity involing ice cream Wed 4th Jun 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Kirsten from Globe Academy said:

This book is hilarious and action-packed at the same time! People aren't what they seem at first, and this is certainly true for the majority of the characters in the book. Jamie lives with the McIntyres- an unruly, wild family and no one seems to want associate with him. However, Eva soon makes friends with him- against her father's wishes- and this leads her down a spiral of fun, danger and of course, trouble.rnrnI would definitely recommend this to somebody (preferably to someone aged 10-12) because it shows us that people aren't always what they appear at first and that they aren't always as bad as they look. The Great Ice- Cream Heist will sweep you off into into a fast- paced, exciting world. Fri 30th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Sami from Globe Academy said:

The Great Ice-cream heist is a great read!!! (Especially since I'm in LOVE with Ice-cream!!!!!) this book sure knows how to make you laugh and yet still keep you fascinated. Caldecott creates a lot of suspense in this book especially towards finding out who the culprit was for vandalising the local park Tue 27th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

abopakr from Globe Academy said:

This is a great book about a girl called Eva and and her father who doesn't want Eva to play with her neighbours because they are noisy and they are a lot of trouble.Eva believes differently, after seeing Jamie on top of his shed to get away from the noise.SO Eva goes to a local park to help out but Jamie is also going.I would recommend this book to children who like ice cream and to the age of 7 and over Thu 22nd May 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Abiola from Globe Academy said:

I thought The Great Ice Cream Heist was a good book because It was interesting but fun at some points. Jamie is my favourite character because he was the sneaky but fun character in the book. At some bits of the book i found it quite boring because i enjoy books which are not for my age rate. It is an adventerous book which i would certainly recommend to children who enjoy short but eye catching books. Thu 22nd May 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Jaden from Globe Academy said:

This book is a wonderful book that is about children being friends even though there parents do not like each other and they steal an ice cream van which gives a funny element.I would rate this book 9/10. Thu 22nd May 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

renee from Globe Academy said:

this book is very adventurous book about two kids who live next to each other they are friends untill a person mistakens jamie as the person who vandalises a park and evas father says their friendship has to be broken.rnFor me this book is a very happy book.so if you want to be a happy person read this interesting book. Thu 22nd May 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Artie from St Thomas the Apostle School said:

I really liked this book because it had a funny and ammusing twist at the begining. Like when they are getting chased because of their rival (Garry). This book really ammuses me because it is humerous.But I could give it a 10 if it had more details and more humor.rI say that it is humerous because it has a competition for ICE CREAM. I mean out of all the things in the world - Ice cream. Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

Ashraf from Globe Academy Primary said:

I gave this book 6/10 because it was exciting then tedious if it kept the consistency of excitement i'd given it a higher score Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 6

Aimare from Globe Academy Primary said:

I dont usually like reading but when I started to read this book I thought that it was going to be so boring however when I first opened the book I didn't think that anymore because I liked he way that she described the characters. The book looks really interesting even though i haven't finished it yet it still looks really adventurous. My favourite part so far is when Eva meets Jamie and become friends. Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

jessica from Globe Academy Primary said:

i like this book because it's funny.The reason it is funny is because Jamie pretended it is his birthday, so he goes to the ice-cream van with Eva and say's it's my birthday can i have i free ice-cream.So the ice cream man say's come in the ice cream van then they ... steal the ice cream van! That was my favourite bit of the story and that's why i gave this book 10 out of 10. My other favourite part of the story is when Eva's dad was talking to Eva saying she can't talk or play with jamie anymore. So the next day when Eva woke up at 6 in the morning while dad was still asleep when she was looking out her window Jamie called her saying come down to the front gate. So she went down to meet him but before she went to meet him she looked in dad's room to see if dad was awake but he was asleep, so she went down to see Jamie and he showed her something in the park but we don't know what. Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 10

Sade from Globe Academy Primary said:

I like this book because the author, Elen Caldecott, has described the main characters (Eva, Jamie and dad) well. Normally I prefer to read books with pictures but as this book was very enjoyable I didn't need pictures to enjoy this book.In my opinion my favourite character is Eva the reason she is my favourite is because she sticks up for her friends even when she, herself, doesn't want to get into trouble - but as it is for her best friend Jamie she doesn't mind getting in trouble on behalf of him. The thing I like most about the language is the similes ' the way the words slipped out of her mind like a wet fish sliding off her plate.' Wed 21st May 2014

Marks out of 10: 9

adedamola from Globe Academy said:

i enjoyed the book but thought it needed some pictures Tue 20th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 7

Adanna from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

This book is really intersting because when an ice cream van came, people were so impactince to get ice cream because they love the ice cream so much, That was the favorite part of the book. But what I don't like about the book is that when the McIntyre family move next door, they were really noisey. Sat 17th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Grace from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

Eva lives a still life with her defensive father. When the McIntyre family move in next door, Eva is surprised. She is especially inquisitive about Jamie, who she regularly sees avoiding the rest of his family on the roof of the garden shed.rnSuddenly, Grandma resolved that it is time for Eva to be more maverick, and convinces Dad to send her to the youth centre thourghout the summer holidays, she had the opportunity to get to know Jamie more. But then everything goes upside down and Jamie is in trouble. Eva knows it's up to her to help him, though it means pertubing Dad in the process.rn It is a warm, funny adventure about sticking up for your friends even if it means getting into trouble and worrying someone who loves and cares for you.rn Mon 5th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 8

Rachael from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

I didn't really like this book. it was quite childish considering my age. I wouldn't recommend it to any one over the age of 9. It's about a bad family who are always getting into fights and their neighbour Eva. Eva's dad told her not to go near the McIntyre's because they are always stirring up trouble. Eva always see's Jamie McIntyre sitting up on the roof of his shed trying to get away from his chaotic family. Later they go on a big adventure because Jamie is accused of vandalising the local park but only Eva could stand up for him. It wasn't great. Mon 5th May 2014

Marks out of 10: 6

Cinzia on The Terrible Thing that Happened to Barnaby Brocket:

The reason I gave this book a 5/10 is because it is not just interesting but the author have came up with a brilliant idea to make a book about a boy that is not normal when he\'s family is very norma...

Read more...