Click to go to photo galleries
Big Nate: The boy with the biggest head in the world

Author: Lincoln Peirce

Title: Big Nate: The boy with the biggest head in the world

More Info: See Shortlist 2014 page

You have sent us 135 reviews of this book so far. Keep them coming by letting us know what you think of Big Nate: The boy with the biggest head in the world on the Have your Say page!

 NEW  Is Big Nate: The boy with the biggest head in the world your favourite book on this year's shortlist? You can now vote for it to win! Just go to the voting page!

Lucy from Other School said:

I like the book because it is funny but sometimes it reminds me of my family and me. I think if you like funny books i think you should read these book, it is my favortive book now. So i hope you enjoy it as well as i did. Lucyxx Sat 3rd Dec 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

Miranda from Peckham Park Primary School said:

At first I thought that I wouldn't enjoy Big Nate, but it was really funny. I enjoyed it. Fri 8th Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Ellie from Redriff Primary School said:

LOL! This book is soooooo funny. Nate is hilarious. I like the way it is set out like a comic. I recommend this book to people who like comedy books. Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 6

jamila from Redriff Primary School said:

O M G!!!!!!!!!!!!! this book is wonderful to be ohnest. i like all the pictures because it takes up nearly the whole book. and that gives you less to read and in that time you will finish the book so easaly.rn i love this book its alright you know Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

Blane from Redriff Primary School said:

This book is the best ! you should read this becaues it is VERY FUNNY! love this book it is the best book ive read! i will read this book every day . But some parts is very childsh. But let say some big nate he has a big head. rnhe was one of the smart . so if you like dairy of the wimpy kid so this is a book for you. so read this book. so if you like funny books choose this Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Jennifer from Redriff Primary School said:

I enjoyed because I think this book is really funny!! You just have to read MORE AND MORE!!!!!!!!! I just cannot put it down!! I also like the drawings!! Loll! Im really into this book because Nate talks about how much school is REALLY boring. :D I would reccommend this book to ALL children that likes comady. ;)rnrn Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

Adebanji from Redriff Primary School said:

I love this book so much,and I like when big Nate has a fortune cookie, and the fortune says that he would surpass all others. I especially like when the book tells us about facts on the side of the book, like for example it has a face of big Nates dad when hes angry,happy,sad and when he looks suspicious. If you like diary of a wimpy this is a book for YOU!!! rnrnI rate this book 10:10 LOL!!! Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Alborz from Bacon's College said:

The book is great, and also is very funy.I like the charecter Nate how is the mane charecter who want to bernbest at every thing. But in the way he have to pass throgh some silly tests. like a eating chips competition.rnHe also go throgh some silly thing like, when Nate were wshing his hand but the water splash his trasers.rnso every one thout he wet his self. Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Alois from Redriff Primary School said:

This book is not about a child with a big head it consiests on three main chaerters whick are danny, and his two best freinds. Also it is an fantastic book to get into beacuse it has comic strips on the side and it has a filp reaction in the corners just incause you are bored and you can show your freinds. Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Oriana from Redriff Primary School said:

I LOVE THE BOOK OUT OF ALL 6. I like it because it makes me want to read on, it also makes me feel like i'm in story making it a new adventure. It really make me want to laugh out loud (lol). I would Recommend the book since i think its the best. If i was every to read this in the future i would read it over and over agian.I L-O-V-E love it. Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Rosie from Redriff Primary School said:

This book is so amazing. It is funny and also the best hillarious book ever! Nate is so weird and is the best anamated character ever. My favourite part is when he wet himself!! lol rnrnrnrnrn READ IT !!!! rnrnrn Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Harrison from Redriff Primary School said:

I love this book it is funny and a great book to read. My favourite character is Nate because he is funny and silly. This book is about Nate. He gets a fortune cookie and it said he would pass all others. I think if you like diary of a whimpy kid this is a book for you. rnrnrnI rate this book 10/10 LOL Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Paige from Redriff Primary School said:

I LOVED This Book Sooo Much! Nate Is Such An Funny And Enthusiastic Character.rnI Especially Liked When The Book Had Some Comics! I Would Read It Again And Again Sooo Take My Advice And rnREAD THIS BOOK! Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Florence from Redriff Primary School said:

I LOVE THIS BOOK WITH A PASSION! Its soo funny! Nate is my favourite charecter, he thinks he is the bast BUT well and truly HE IS NOT! Lol YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!! Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Lance from Redriff Primary School said:

I think this book is really GREAT!!! i LOVE the comic strips that they make nate write it is amsome. Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Kieran from Redriff Primary School said:

I LOVE. i would read it again and again. i would like to thank the illustrator for the drawings because it is really funny, including the eyes. Also the author made me laugh so much. I would recomend this book to a friend! Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Ruby from Redriff Primary School said:

I LOVED this book! It is GREAT! I LOVE how it is set out like a comic also I LOVE the drawings! Big Nate is very childish! EVERYONE SHOULD READ THIS BOOK! Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

connor from Redriff Primary School said:

I in jod the book becicse the neiet he got a foren coiy it siad you be beta the uos but he gat toresf a loert Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

christian from Redriff Primary School said:

This book is interesting because there is a lot of chracter. Nate the boy with the biggest head in the world and he broke everybodys record by getting 7 detention he hates Mrs Godfrey and he calls her godzilla because of ugly and fat she is.rnThis is a very book and more people should read this book beacause it is like diary of the wimpy kid Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Temidayo from Redriff Primary School said:

This book is about Big Nate and his friends when he gets a foutune cookie fromTeddie he thinks he can surpass everyone but he justs gets lots of detantions and gets a new record 7 detantions thats a record! Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Anthea from Redriff Primary School said:

I Like this book because it is really funny. It is a book about a boy called Nate who gets a fortune cookie from one of his friends and it says " Today you will surpass all others ", and then his day goes all wrong. He gets a detention from every teacher and at the end he sort of supasses all others. I recomend people to read this book. Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Ellie from Redriff Primary School said:

I think this book is very enjoyable and funny it has lots of character.rnThere is a boy called Nate and his sister Ellen who gives him a fortune cookie and it says you will surpass all others and he tries to be good all the time and the fortune cookie just doesn't work and he gets in trouble all the time and he tries his hardest and it still doesn't work. And one day when he is in school he just does good for once and he doesn't get shouted at nothing wrong and he just sits down and relaxes in school with his feet up. Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Zainab from Redriff Primary School said:

I enjoyed and loved the book BigNate The Boy With The Biggest Head In The World. It is just like The Diary Of the Wimpy Kid! I found it really funny when Nate opend a cookie and it said "you will supass all others" and all day he tried to do it and never sucided but at the end of the day he had received 7 detensions in totall and then he found out he had supassed all others with detensions! I LAUGHED MY HEAD OFF! rnrnI gave this book 10 out of ten because it was funny, interesting and it put i smile on my face. Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Toni from Redriff Primary School said:

I love this book because he got 7 detentions and it is REALLY FUNNY! And i espically liked when he wore coach johns shorts and he's other shorts got wet i love this book is really good and fun ! Its just like diary of a wimpy kid! I LOVE THIS BOOK! And i like how he tries to impress The cruish he likes. rnrnrnI give this book 10/10! rn Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Bethlehem from Redriff Primary School said:

I love this book beacause it is set out as a comic and the drawings are GREAT!!! I would reccomend this book to people aged 9-13.rn The main character is Nate he frogets his pack lunch so his friend gives him a fortune cookie and it says he will supass others so he trys to be the best at everything but ii dosnt go to plan!!!!! Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Tennea from Redriff Primary School said:

It is about a boy and hes name is called Nate has a foutune cookey, on the fortune cookey it said suparss all other. First he trys to make hes science teacher laugh because hes science teacher dont laugh. At the end he supass all others by getting lots of detencions. Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Uche from Redriff Primary School said:

i like this book because how stupid Natein good way and the activties at back sercet code you can crack the design of the charters i really like his the a pain in the back side always getting away with everthing and the lay is dairy of the wimpy kid that a good book so this a really good book so i would suggest that you read the book. Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Victor from Redriff Primary School said:

I thing children at the age of 10 -12 would realy like to read this book. I think this book is really funny and I would love to read more of big nate andventures, is there going to be a follow up book? Nate, the main character, gets a fortune cookie saying he will surpass all others. The main story is really interesting and I think you would really enjoy it. The adventure is like dairy of the wimpy kid if you like them then you will like this book. Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Martin from Redriff Primary School said:

I really enjoyed reading this very funny and interesting book. The main charator is Nate. He gets a fortune cookie which says that he will surpass all others. Insted he gets a detention slip from all his teachers. I think children over the age of 8 should read this book, It's kind of like the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books. The story is really enjoyable and I hope that anyone who reads it, will enjoy it. Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

kartal from Redriff Primary School said:

This book is so funny that i started rolling on the floor and laughed uncontrollably. This book is about a kid called Nate who gets a fortune cookie that tell him he will surpass all others today. So he tries to find ways to surpass all others. And in the end he gets seven detentions! He beats everyone else at having the most detentions and instead of being sad he ligtens up. Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Poppy from Redriff Primary School said:

This book is GREAT!!!rnBig Nate is such a great character he is so funny. My best part is when Big Nate calls Mr Gofrey names like: i can't belive its not butter and loads more random names. I think you should read this book if your a fan of The Diary Of A Wimpy Kid. Fri 1st Jul 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

cian from Bacon's College said:

my favourite book is big nate because it is enjoyable i would recomend this book for 10 to 12 year olds if your a diary of a wimpy kid fan this is the book for you. Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

Artur from Bacon's College said:

Big nate is a very humourous book for children aged 8 to 13. It has cartoon illustration and it is written like a diary. If you have read Diary of a wimpy kid then you will enjoy this book. The main character is a boy called Nate, who finds a fortune cookie saying that he will surpass all others. So he thinks of ways to make his fortune become true. he's friends Teddy and Francis try to assist him in doing that. But things don't go quite to plan. Big nate is a gripping book that is extremely hard to put down. You can't resist the temptation to continue reading. It is made for the class clowns of the world. Best parts include when Nate enters an eating contest and gets he's trousers covered in green beans and also when Nate gets detention slips from all he's teachers. In summary it is a very funny book and can make you laugh your pants off! Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

Lucas from St John's RC Primary School, St Elmos Rd said:

I liked Big Nate because it was funny. My favourite part of the book is when Nate gave Mrs Godfrey 20 nick names and the best one was Gas Station. One of the other best parts was when Big Nate had the food competion. I also can't believe that loads of differnt things happend just because Big Nate found a fortune cookie which said you will surpass all others. Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

michael from Bacon's College said:

the book is about a boy who gets a fortune cookie,his cookie says you will surprass all others...each lesson goes horribly wrong.Big nate got a detention in every lesson so the fortune cookie was a lie ; or is it...rnBig nate got at least 1 detention in each lessson so when he went to the detention room the teacher said how many this time and big nate gave her 7 the most detentions ever.So that's how Big nate surpass all came true in the end.rnI found the book very funny and unsusal.rnrn Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

Anika from Bacon's College said:

It's funny and it was entertaining because he got in trouble a lot and got 7 detetions. My favourite character is Teddy because he makes fun of Nate. Nate always gave Mrs Godfrey nicknames like gas station, boring.com and I can't belive it's not butter. Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

Francis from Bacon's College said:

i think big nate is a funny book beause its like diary of a wimpy kid. you can read it whenever you want to so it wont take you a month to finish.I recommend this to any one who likes funny short reads Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

Becky from Bacon's College said:

I thought that big nate was REALLY funny, when he discribed his teacher (Miss Godfrey) and called her names like gas station. He also ate a fortune cookie but he dont believe in them. on the fortune cookie it said "i will surpass all others" so near the end he got 7 detentions. his teacher told him that he has made a new record because he got 7 detentions so his fortune cookie came true. Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Shanice from St John's RC Primary School, St Elmos Rd said:

I thought that big nate was REALLY funny, when he discribed his teacher (Miss Godfrey) and called her names like gas station. He also ate a fortune cookie but he dont believe in them. on the fortune cookie it said "i will surpass all others" so near the end he got 7 detentions. his teacher told him that he has made a new record because he got 7 detentions so his fortune cookie came true. Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

don from Bacon's College said:

the book was very good because it was and epic faliure for nate. he was always trying to beat other pople at something but it never worked and in the end he ended up with detention from alo of the teachers Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Ivonne from Bacon's College said:

The book 'Big Nate ' was really funny and entertaining. Grabbed my attention instantly->> with Nate's clumsiness... and his mess ups. It's a great book and i recommend the book to children who like comic books; and children who have read and enjoyed all 'Diary of a wimpy kid' books. Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 7

Christopher from Bacon's College said:

this book is a fantastic way to keep you entertained but it was not the best book i have read. my favorite part was when he had pe and wet his pants... it was extreamly funny. the pictures where funny but i think that the book was a bit childish. i would recomend it for children from the age they canread to 10!!! :) Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 6

javier from St John's RC Primary School, St Elmos Rd said:

it is funny and crazy it is like diary of wimpy kid it has lots of funny pictures it has funny words and is populare and is suitible for 6 and over. Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

Jed from Bacon's College said:

This was a funny and silly book to read. Its like diary of a wimpy kid, and its a bit like a dairy. I also like the drawings in the book. The people in the book were funny and very beliveable, this was my favourite book I have read so far. I would reccomend this book th children aged 7-13 Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

keanu from Bacon's College said:

we like this book as its very funny and good for children to read. it has comic strips wich makes it intresting to read and interact with. Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

billie from St John's RC Primary School, St Elmos Rd said:

this book was my favourite book so far, because its funny how nate's always getting in trouble. my favourite bit in it was when he was trying to break a world record but it wasnt working out for him so he kept on getting detentions, and he got so many he broke the world record. Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Folarin from St John's RC Primary School, St Elmos Rd said:

This is the best book i've read in the Southwark book award,It was hilarious Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

Michelle from Bacon's College said:

This book was really interesting and funny and it made me want to read on. My favourite character was Nate because he was fuuny and dumb. I would recomend this book to children aged from 9- 14. My favourite part in the book is when they have the eating competition and the principle slips on a green bean, It was a very entertaining book! Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Jesse from Bacon's College said:

Big Nate is the funniest is the funniest guy I have ever seen in my life. Bean eating world records, smart-alec best friends and mayhem all the time. It is a book I'd recommend to anyone. Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Tiffany from Bacon's College said:

I think this book is very funny, because it has lots of intresting ideas for having a fortune. It tells you how Big Nate had a bad day, at six grade, i recomed this book to 5 and over. Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

julia from St John's RC Primary School, St Elmos Rd said:

Big Nate is an entertaining book, but I think the book is much more on him telling lies than him. I also think the book is halarious.Whta I like about the book most is that he get into a lot of trouble and gets alot of detention slips.rnWhat I disklike about the book most is when the book talks about mushy peas. Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

Aaron from St John's RC Primary School, St Elmos Rd said:

This book is great and i like it because it's illustrations are amazing and i like cartoon books. It show us what a real life boys life is like it has good jokes in it and very funny at times. i would recomend this book to people aged 8 to 13. Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Francis from St John's RC Primary School, St Elmos Rd said:

I thought this was a very good book because it is very funny and i would recomend it to children. Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

zidan from Bacon's College said:

It was really good book and i really enjoyed it it is really funny.rnhe has a big head Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

Harry from St John's RC Primary School, St Elmos Rd said:

I like this book because it shows you how regular life goes on in this story i like how big nate trys to impresss hes classmates but always fails and he never does hes homework and hates tests. which he finds cool but no one else does Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

maddy from Bacon's College said:

i like the book because its funny and interesting. its suitable for kids aged 11 and over.my favourite part was when he went to the gym and he got his trousers all wet. Wed 29th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Rugina from Peckham Park Primary School said:

Wow, this book was the first one I read and it is my second favourite. The best part of the book was when Nate had an accident and wore the gym teachers shorts. It made me laugh! Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

anthony from Peter Hills C of E Primary School said:

This review was written by Anthony Kimera:(rnit was fun, exciting and absolutley great rnrnThis one was written by Wilf Hutchings:)rnBig ned was the worst book i have read in my hole life compltre copy of diary of the wimpy kid.rn Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

JJ from Bacon's College said:

i like this book because it has joke in it and is funny. i also like this book because of the structure and the way page is layed out. the main character is big nate, the boy with the biggest head in the world, he does not like school and doesn't like any of his teachers. his worst teacher is ms godfrey she is always giving big nate detentions that is why big nate draws pictures of ms godfrey and some of his friends like ms godfrey and some hate ms godfrey. in his class there is a girl that he likes and when it was valentines day he wrote her a love card but his worst enemy had told the girl he liked that and she had spioled the suprise. he wanted to win a trophy and he did he won the trophy for braking the worlds record of getting the most detentions in his class and he was happy that he had won the trophy. Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

chulong from Bacon's College said:

it was a good book but it was quite short and to much pictures. it was funny and very similar to diary of a whimpy kid. i liked how his fortune cookie said he would surpass every one but he did it in a bad way . i would recommend it to younger people who like a short read. 9/10 Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

Amir from Bacon's College said:

Big nate was not a very good book,i didn't enjoy this book but if you would like to read it then give it a try. The reason i didn't like it was because the jokes were old and it was not try. Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 1

Aaron from Peter Hills C of E Primary School said:

Its funny he doesn't have a book to revise his test. Its funny because he is bad at everything and keeps getting in trouble. Also its funny because he has a big head and he is dumb. Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

louis from Bacon's College said:

it was a good book it was quite funny it was very simmilar to diary of a whimpy kid. it had good animations and had alot of pictures, the green bean eating compitions was very funny. i recommend reading it i'd give it a 10 out of 10 . Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Jada from Peckham Park Primary School said:

I kind of like this book because it`s very funny and all the Head Teacher always say that Nate should be like his sister Ellen but he imagines himself in a cheerleading suit with pom-poms in his hands. There was one bit of the book that I liked the most is when Nate told Mrs Clarke that Gina should keep her big mouth shut! That was very cool and funny! I give it a nine out of ten. Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

reggie from Bacon's College said:

I think that the this book is very humours and interesting because it showed his ability to have fun rnThe storyline was a good one as i couldn’t stop reading rnMy favourite part was when he broke the world record for detentions. rn Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

ayomide from Peter Hills C of E Primary School said:

This book was funny i enjoyed that nate has gone through loads of detentions in his life i was impressed that this book was good. Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

Fatima from Peckham Park Primary School said:

I like this book because it is exciting when Big Nate writes a bunch of names for his teacher. My best bit is when Big Nate writes a love poem about Jenny and Mrs Godfrey snatches it off Nate. I would like to give this book 10 out of 10 Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Jack from Peckham Park Primary School said:

Big Nate is an enjoyable book which you would read again and again without getting bored. This is one of my favourite books. Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

Kieran from Peckham Park Primary School said:

Big Nate was one of my favourites. I liked how he was happy when he got all those detentions. Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Onatagho from Peckham Park Primary School said:

I like this book because it is very funny. Nothing could top this book. I wouldn't change anything about this book! Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

Olaitan from Peckham Park Primary School said:

9/10 is a spectacular rating for this funny book because it was so interesting how he tried to surpass all others in stupid ways like the pea eating contest. However in the end he did surpass all others with getting the most detention ever in his school. Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

ziah from Bacon's College said:

i like this book because it is very interesting when big nate refuses to go in summer school.The things that i would like to change is tha t when big nate gets writes letter to sip him away from school saying that he has a apointment . rnThe best bit of the book big nate is when pictures of when he is little getting bullied by his sister. Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 7

Taofeekat from Peckham Park Primary School said:

Very amusing cartoons and funny stuff and is very funny. Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Abdul Malik from Peckham Park Primary School said:

This is the most captivating bopok that I have read in my whole life except from Goal. Although I don't like cartoonistic books this book has changed my veiw of cartoonistic books that is why I think that big Nate the boy with the Biggest Head in the World is so good. Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

ange-emmanuel from Bacon's College said:

HAHAHA he had a big head thats why i liked it Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

Zainab from Peckham Park Primary School said:

This book is hilarious and really funny. I would give this book a good mark of 9 out of 10. Thu 23rd Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

Paige from City of London Academy said:

i loved big nate because it had good humour and it is funny and i would recomed this book to every one . Nate was the main charter and he dose these crazy ideas just to get a recoded i will rate this book 10 out of 10 Tue 21st Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Megan from Bacon's College said:

I thought Big Nate was really funny and nice to read. My faveroite bit was when he showed us all the nicknames for his teacher. Also when he are all them green beans, they sound horrible and have a nasty flavour. I thought all the drawings were good,cool and I liked nearly all of it and other people that are going to read it we'll be laughing their heads of on this hallerious book. The only bit I dont get is the name of the book because in the end he breakes a record for the most detentions in one day, and its nothing to do with having a big head. I would definantly read this great book again! Fri 17th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Rachel from Southwark Park Primary School said:

I REALLLLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK!!!rnrnI was really in to this book because it was funny intresting and also disgusting, grose and lots more. rnrnI wasn't to keen on the bit when he ate loads of green beans and then was sick all over the floor and teacher. But overall the book was ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!! Thu 16th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

Daniel from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

Title:Big Nate the boy with the biggest head in the worldrnAuthor: Lincoin PiercernThis book is really funny as nate is always in trouble trying to miss school or moaning. Tue 14th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Ben from Southwark Park Primary School said:

Big Nate THE BOY WITH THE BIGGEST HEAD IN THE WORLD!rnrnBig Nate is about a boy called Nate who wants to go out with a girl. At the start of the day Nate thinks there is a test on the day (he fought there was because his friend frances was reading a revision book). Nate tries to bunk scool so he tries to forge a letter from his dad saying he had a opointment. Suddenly he jumps up because he heard someone, it was his friend Frances who was reading the revision book. Funny enough there wasn't a test at all!rnrnlater in school he forgot his lunch so his other friend who is funny gave him a fortune cookie it read "you will surpass al others!" Nate thought he was now the best, his first class started he got a detension for his teacher finding out that he did silly names about her. At the end of the day he got 7 detensions and broke a world record, so he did surpassed all others!rnrnMy favourite part is when he tries to brake a world record for eating the most green beans but he didn't do it insted he got another detension! this book is brlliant and i recomend it to eveyone!!!!! Tue 14th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

Sarah from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

Even though I haven't got to finish this book yet, so far I think it's great. It's really funny and has funny comics. I mostly like how Nate describes his teachers, the nicknames he uses for them. It also shows how average boys would act. I also liked the bit when Nate thought he had a test and the teacher warned him that if he failed again, he would end up in summer school!! But in the end, he found out there was no test at all. Phew!!! That's all I have gotten up to so far, but I hope to get it finished soon!!!rnrnP.S, I would totally recommend this to someone who likes to have a good laugh!!!! Tue 14th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Yesid from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

I really liked Big Nate because it is very humorous and funny book.The story happened in a school .Nate wants to break the record for eating green peas fast Nate must use his determination.He tried to avoid the Head Teacher.Then he gets in trouble.I recommend this book Because it is really funny and you will laugh Thank you. Tue 14th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

katherine from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

In my opinion i think that the book called big Nate illustrated by Lincoln Peirce was AMAZING because it is a comedy story and I especially loved the part when the teacher said “YAK YAK” loads of times that just made me laugh so many times I nearly fell of my chair. The setting of the story was mainly baced at a classroom and the boy Nate is not that smart. This book is fantastic and i will recommend this book to children who are humorous and like to laugh alot. Mon 13th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Ismail from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

The Book Big Nate: The Boy With The Biggest Head In The World is an extremely funny book written by Lincoln Peirce. Imagine the possibility of getting into big trouble with the headmaster before school even starts and also attempting to eat the most green peas in the world but then resulting in failure as a teacher appears out of nowhere. While reading this book is that special cookies with massive grants are usually true as Nate soon finds out. The theme for this book is probably never giving up. I really like this book as it is about a boy with an exhilarating school life. Mon 13th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

sophia from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

Big Nate is a humorous story about a boy called Nate who wants to break a world record. It is set in an average styled american school. Big Nate is a fantastic book because the character Nate is someone we can all relate too. It also has characters we all have in our classrooms. I like big Nate because it has a very good moral. Never give up on what you want to do. I would recommend it to any age group above the age of 5. Mon 13th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Jaydn from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

This hilarious book is all about Nate,who thought he was destined for greatness. Nate wanted his fortune to come true but why is he having such a bad day? Every lesson, Nate got a detention slip saying the reason why he's in detention e.g:rn*Eating beansrn*Wearing a P.E teacher's kitrn*Making a fake note about himself not going to schoolrn* Not finishing his test and ripping it when to get it back from a teacherrnThere were lots of reasons!!! Mon 13th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Mehdi from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

I would recamend this book because it has a lot of comedy and it has a little bit of a mystery. Mon 13th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

SASKIA from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

`BIG NATE IS THE FUNNIEST AND SILLIEST CHARACTER I'VE EVER READ ABOUT! THE SETTING IS SCHOOL AND HIS FRIEND GIVES HIM A FORTUNE COOKIE SAYING THAT HE WILL SERPASS ALL OTHERS SO HE THINKS HIS GONNA BREAK A WORLD RECORD FOR EATING THE MOST GREEN BEANS BUT HE DID BREAK A WORLD RECORD BUT NOT THE RECORD HE WAS EXPECTING. ITS THE BEST BOOK I'VE EVER READ AND I FINISHED THIS BOOK IN ONE DAY TO SHOW HOW MUCH I LIKE IT. Mon 13th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

abi from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

this book is really hilarious and my favourite character is nate because he's always getting into trouble. i will recomend it to a 10-15 year old.i couldn't stop reading i just wanted to know what's next and what his next detention is going to be about. Mon 13th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Megan from Bacon's College said:

This book is on the OK side but it was funny and a bit silly therefore i liked it Mon 13th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

Dina from Harris Academy Bermondsey said:

I absolutely love this book. I would recommend this book for children between actually for all ages because it's funny and understandable by all years! I like the way that Big Nate is portrayed in the book because with the vocabulary you can really see that he is naughty, hates school and likes nothing more but to make trouble! My fave part is when he comes into the poetry class and thinks about making a poem for his love and then his enemy says hey look everybody he is writing a poem for his love and then she humiliates him in front or the whole class!! I absolutely love this book!¬!!! Mon 13th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Niamh from City of London Academy said:

This is a EXTREMELY good book and i recommend it to people who like comedy.rnrnIt has so many funny things that your sides will split because your laughing so much. Nate is all ways getting into trouble and when he has a fortune cookie fortune that says " you will surpass all others", he gets into tons more trouble! But when he finds how it's because..... well, read it yourself to find out! Mon 13th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

emerica from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

i like it because it has some funny bites and i like that book out of the six.rnrnrn Fri 10th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Colin from Bacon's College said:

I enjoyed this book alot , i hope it wins!!!! Tue 7th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

Daniel from City of London Academy said:

I really liked this book. It was funny and entertaining. I also love how its almost a comic. I can't recommend it enough Mon 6th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Madsion from City of London Academy said:

i give this book a 9 because i enjoyed it and thought it was very funny. I think its the best book out of all of them it should win. Mon 6th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

TERAH from City of London Academy said:

THIS BOOKIS HAS LOVELY ANIMATED PICTURES AND I REALLY ENJOYED THESE KIND OF PICTURE BOOKrnrn Mon 6th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Lavaun from City of London Academy said:

This book was jokes and would make you laughoutloud is good iwould recomend you to read this (who evers reading this reveiw) . Mon 6th Jun 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

Annas from Southwark Park Primary School said:

This book is the best book I have ever read. It was really funny when he is in class and trying to break a world record. This book is really really funny only that some bits are really boring which i hate in books. I would like anyone to try it out as it is funny even Jeff Kinney The Diary Of A Wimpy Kid Writer said it. Mon 30th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Sean from Southwark Park Primary School said:

I really enjoyed this book because it had some jokes and it was the funniest out of all. It started to build when he got the fortune cookie saying ' You will supase all others. He got a record of getting the most detentions in the school by all his teachers and his principal. All in total he had 7 detentions in one day. In addition to the story he had a crush and tryed to impress her by writing a poem but she was too interested in her. He had a girl called Gina who he hated and was a suck up and a tell tale. I rate this book 9 out of 10 as equal to 4 and a half stars.! Sun 29th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

abdal from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

I loved this book it was AMAZING!!! and grouse. However I WISH THIS BOOK WINS!!because I liked when he never stops going to the head teachers office for a detention. The grouse part is that he ate those disgusting beans in 1 mouth full and the children shouting EAT, EAT, EAT, EAT!! until the teacher comes and gives him a detention. I gave 9 mark out of 10 not 10 out of 10 because I wanted it to continue the story for a example that he went to a competition at was in first place something like that, but to be honest it was HILARIOUS!!!rn Sun 29th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

Emmanuel from Kingsdale School said:

I really liked this book. It had alot of humour in it and included many animations and comic strips which was really cool. The book reminded me of "Diary of the wimpy kid" stories which is also amazing. The story line is about a boy called Nate who is destined for greatness but doesn't know how to. Trying his best to achieve his goal is turning out to receive seven detentions! Jenny a girl how Nate has a crush on is dating a foreign boy Author. Nate tried to write a love poem but Gina spoilt the surprise. How mean to Nate was that? To try to surpass everyone he tries to eat slimy beans as fast as he could to beat a record but gets to of by the head! When he finally reaches detention he realises he broke the record of getting seven detentions a day! I wished the book to carry on from this point and see what Nate gets up to. I recommend this book for nine and over as it is easy to read. that is the reason i gave it a 10/10 :). Sat 28th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Agrita from Southwark Park Primary School said:

I liked this book. It had alot of humour in it and included many animations and comic strips. The book reminded me of "Diary of the wimpy kid" stories. The story line is about a boy called Nate who is destined for greatness but doesn't know how to. Trying his best to achieve his goal is turning out to receive seven detentions! Jenny a girl how Nate has a crush on is dating a foreign boy Author. Nate tried to write a love poem but Gina spoilt the surprise. How mean to Nate was that? To try to surpass everyone he tries to eat slimy beans as fast as he could to beat a record but gets to of by the head! When he finally reaches detention he realises he broke the record of getting seven detentions a day! I wished the book to carry on from this point and see what Nate gets up to. I recommend this book for nine and over as it is easy to read. Fri 27th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Shannon from Harris Academy Bermondsey said:

This book is brilliant and funny. This is the first book I have read to the end. My little sister wanted to read it as well. Fri 27th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

Poppy from Southwark Park Primary School said:

I found this book absalutly helarious. Because on page 107 Amy Wexler and Luke Bertand are kissing in the corridor and Nate can see, I think that catoon is very funny, because there is love hearts around them. Nate is always panking about if he has a test like the time he looked out of his window an dlooked in to his best friends room across from his house whilst he was in his room. As he looked over in to the room with his bonokulars and saw his friend ready a study book (his friend is geek!) rnrnNormal people usally eat: cereal, toast, bacon sand wich. But Nate's dad makes hom porrige some people eat it but Nate thinks it's TOXIC!! but some people enjoy it. i would recommend this book to people aged 11, 12,13. i think this book is 10/10 Fri 27th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Ambra from Grange Primary School said:

This book was fantastic. It is really funny and entertaining. Thu 26th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Jasmine from Harris Academy Bermondsey said:

I love this book!!!!! I really was engaged with this book. I read it through in class and at home and even all night. I read it in one day that is how much this book can engage you to it. I really advise everyone to read this book if they want something to make you laugh. If you don't you are missing out on this book full of laughs. This book so far has my vote. Hope it will win! :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) Thu 26th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Komal from Harris Academy Bermondsey said:

Big Nate is a really funny and enjoyable book to read. There are some really funny and adventurous events that take place in this book. I will give this book a 9 out of ten. Thu 26th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

Sydney from Southwark Park Primary School said:

Big Nate was a extremely funny book with loads of cartoon drawings. This story very much reminded me of the books 'Diary of a Wimpy Kid' by Jeff Kinney whom I also find very hilarious. This book was a much preferable choice of book for myself. Here is my review...rnrn'Big Nate' was a very comedy styled book. Nate was a seriously hilarious character who always made a fool of himself after finding out his fortune to 'surpass others' which he was desperate to accomlish in different lessons throughout his school day. I very much enjoyed reading this book and wasn't able to put the book down. I also found Nate's personality and characterism very loving to read. I am sure others will definately agree. Here is my thoughts...rnrnThis book was very funny and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I give this book 5 stars. Thu 26th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

damilola from City of London Academy said:

i found this book very funny i lept on laughing .it was very instering that nate got in trouble and deteion slips in one single day.beacuse the book was a short comic book it was instering with some great pictures about the book .i would recomed book to kids who like to laugh and read short comic book.thank you i realy injoyed this book. Wed 25th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Haddy from Walworth Academy said:

I couldn't stop laughing when i was reading this book. It was absolutely hillarious. it reminded me of 'Diary of a wimpy kid'. i love these kind of books so much. Wed 25th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

Harry from Walworth Academy said:

This book is so awsome..!! i just laughed so hard at the part when nate gets all his detentions.. then surpasses all others.. Ive read the 2nd series aswel (Big Nate Strikes Back) Wed 25th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Jaafar from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

Big Nate is a book that will cheer u up. its amazing. its got evrything a reader could want. adventure, comedy, mystery, action, brain teazing. i rated this 10 out of ten becuase its the best big ive read so far. Mon 23rd May 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Mistura from City of London Academy said:

This book is very interesting and Funny. It is a book that is hand-griping. That I would recommand to people the like 'Whipy Kid' Mon 23rd May 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

Ellie from City of London Academy said:

I read this book and really enjoyed it. it was so funny the best part of this book is when nate finds out that he surpasses all in getting the most detentions in a whole day including one from the head teacher.......rnrnif you have not read this book yet i would say you have to read it rni would recommend this to people who enjoy wimpy kid Mon 23rd May 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

Dominika from Southwark Park Primary School said:

In my Opinion, I would like to say that i really love that book and i would like to read it again. My favrouite bit was when the dad gave Nate a TOXIC porridge i loved that bit . The boring bit was the 1st page of the book not a good introduction and the okay bit was when he was just looking for his notes... In addition i would like to say that my other favrouite bit was when he was having a tag war with thhe teacher. Well this book was one of my favrouites hopefully there will be new additions of the big Nate. I raate it 10/10 :) Thu 19th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Izzy from Kingsdale School said:

I didn't really enjoy it because I thought it was ripping Diary of a Wimpy Kid off. But in some parts it was quite funny! I am not intending on reading the second book! Wed 18th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 4

Mardin from Southwark Park Primary School said:

This book is amazing my favrouite bit is when nate finds out that he hade broken a world record for geting the most detenions and the wierdsest bit was when nate wacked Francis round the face this was my first southwark book award that I read I really liked it because it was just like diary of a wimpy kid. Wed 18th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

molly from Kingsdale School said:

i think this book is suitable for children aged 7 to 13. if you like diary of a wimpy kid, this is very simular. It is exciting and extremely fun to read. i advise you to read it. Tue 17th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

Rashi from Southwark Park Primary School said:

I really enjoyed reading this book. I thought it was on of the most funniest books I had ever read. I really liked the character of Nate he was like a really funny and reminded me of many of people. My favourite part of the book was when Nate was at the detention room and got the news that he broke a new record.turned out his fortune cookie was true after all! I compleatly agree with the way people said that it was like a wimpy kid book. Funny,short and snappy. I think children will really like this book the characters will seem very familiar to you. Every school has a boy like Nate! I am looking forward to the next bookby Lincoin Peirce! Mon 16th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

lucy from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

This book was really funny and the characters were easy to like but I think that it could have had more action in it. However it was really great book and kept me laughing till the end. Sun 15th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

kayla from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

i have just finished this book and its amazing its sooooo funny i cant wait for my next book Sat 7th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Yesid from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

I realy enjoy big Nate because i felt that i was in the book and when i look inside it it looked like a comic book Thank You. Fri 6th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

stafi from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

I loved the book. it was funny.I loved Nate's spiky weird hair because it's the weirdest hairstyle I've ever seen. I wish there was more of Nate in other books and stories . Thu 5th May 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Jaydn from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

This is one of the most funniest books ever. A boy ,Nate, trying too hard to make his fortune come true. Maybe one day I could 'surpass all others'! It was so funny my sister had the same book from her library at her school!!! Mon 2nd May 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

kayla from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

this book is great rni would rate it............ 10/10 rnit is so funny its the best book i have read rn Sat 30th Apr 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Hoa from City of London Academy said:

This book is hilarious!!!rnA book that really uplifts your emotion.It's funny,silly and really entertaining!rnWhat I really enjoyed about it is the pictures the characters,but mainly the part when Nate kept on getting the pink slips,( which meant DETENTION! ) just because he tried to prove his fortune!rnEntertaining but really silly!rnI'd recommend this to people who loves cartoon, humour, and silly books!rnTHIS BOOK SHOULD WIN!!!!! Fri 29th Apr 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

simeon from Chatterbooks Reading Group said:

It was funny and I like it so much. Thu 28th Apr 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

Callum from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

I love these sorts of books but this book was even more enjoyable then 'Diary of a Wimpy Kid' . The books genre is romance and comendy . My most favourite part of the book was the end . I disliked the beginning of the book because it confused me . The main character is Nate . The plot is interesting as are the other character the most funniest is teddy. I would recommend this book to my friends . I gave this book a 7/10 because I loved the book but i read it with in 2 days. Wed 27th Apr 2011

Marks out of 10: 7

yasmine from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

dear libary girl rni like this book because it is like the diary of the wimpy kid which i love.i like the charecters and how they talk to each other i love that it has funny and romance for jenny and nate but they were thoughter i will like to lnow if there is a book two and if there s can you have it for the book awards 2012 thankyoyrnyour sincerley yasmine Wed 27th Apr 2011

Marks out of 10: 8

Mrs Lee from Eveline Lowe Primary School said:

I'm not a fan of these types of book, but once I started reading it I didn't put it down, until I had finished it. -Very similar to" A Diary of a Wimpy Kid" Wed 27th Apr 2011

Marks out of 10: 9

Johanna from Riverside Primary School said:

its kind of funny because nate acts very idiotic at times welll all of the time it wasnt that funny thoughrn Wed 13th Apr 2011

Marks out of 10: 4

Yasir from Southwark Park Primary School said:

Nate is a boy who is destined for greatness however his school day turns out to be a total disaster.rnrnIt all starts of when he is in his room getting ready for school and then he suddenly saw Francis (his best mate) reading a book. All of a sudden he thinks he has a test. Thus he wanted to listen to MRS Godfrey aka Godzilla. Subsequently Nate does not turn up to school however there was no test until he was informed by his best mate Francis. On the other hand Nate was handed so many detentions that he broke a record. Now he knew he believed in his fortune cookie.rnrnThis book is an exhilirating comic book that is as good as diary of a wimpy kid. This book is pure and authentic. What a book Wed 13th Apr 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

sabrina from Southwark Park Primary School said:

Meet classic comic-strip character Big Nate-The Boy With The Biggest Head In The World. Big headed Nate Wright truly believe he will be given greatness! He is a champion in Table Tennis, comic book artist and king of CLASS..rnBut he is having a bad day But why? He eats his toxic porridge by dad, knowing that he thought he had a test that day. On his way to school he met he next door neighbors dog. Then, he went to school and was so afraid to do the test so he decided to do something CHEEKY!!! . He tried writing a letter of absence in his dad handwriting. He tried and tried until he got it. His friend the genius creped up at him and said what are you doing? His friend said there was no test but it was to late Nate already gave the letter in and Dad got a phone call. His teacher Mrs Godfrey (aka “Godzilla”) gave him a pink letter called Detention!! rnrnNate accidentally body slams his headmaster AND insults his worse teacher.He attempts to set a speed-eating world record on Peas!(Gross) He succeeds in setting a new school record in getting the most detentions in one day. How long is that? rnrnMy favorite part on the story is when he falls in love with a girl he knew for ages and tries writing a love poem why? Because it gives me a hint on how the main character it self is feeling. This story is jammed full of comics and laughter! I want to read another part of this book; I cannot take my eyes off it. Whilst reading a page or more. rnPacked with cartoons and comic-strips, this is truly hysterical stuff. If you love to laugh, you’re going to love Big Nate! I vote this book 10/10 as it is out of this world!!!rnrnrnrnrnrn Fri 8th Apr 2011

Marks out of 10: 10

Cinzia on The Terrible Thing that Happened to Barnaby Brocket:

The reason I gave this book a 5/10 is because it is not just interesting but the author have came up with a brilliant idea to make a book about a boy that is not normal when he\'s family is very norma...

Read more...