Click to go to photo galleries
Fizzlebert Stump: The Boy Who Ran Away From the Circus (and Joined the Library)

Author: A F Harrold

Title: Fizzlebert Stump: The Boy Who Ran Away From the Circus (and Joined the Library)

More Info: See Shortlist 2013 page

You have sent us 53 reviews of this book so far. Keep them coming by letting us know what you think of Fizzlebert Stump: The Boy Who Ran Away From the Circus (and Joined the Library) on the Have your Say page!

 NEW  Is Fizzlebert Stump: The Boy Who Ran Away From the Circus (and Joined the Library) your favourite book on this year's shortlist? You can now vote for it to win! Just go to the voting page!

Naomi from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

I thought this book was very interesting because it had lots of very unusal things in it. First of all , there is a boy called Fizzleburt Stump and he lives in a circus with his mum and dad but I don't want to really give away too much......he going to the libary for the first time and he doesn;t have a libary card, he meets an old lady who acts as if she's a nice lady but she's actually evil. They kidnap him and another boy.....rn and I would like you to find out the rest of the story by yourself and see what happens next. Fri 12th Jul 2013

Marks out of 10: 7

Migena from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

I think Fizzlebert Stump was an interesting and funny book. It was great because it described it so well as if it was all happening right in front of me. Although it was detailed it wasn't boring and long and it was amazing. In the whole book my favorite character was Fizzlebert because he was unaware of a real normal life but was a bit smart. My favourite part is when Kevin and Fizz try to escape but are caught by two men and brought back to the evil old couple (who had kidnapped Fizz and Kevin by lying to them and making up silly stories). The reason I kept on reading because at the end of each chapter there was always missing information and it would tell you to read on to find out. These are the reasons enjoyed reading this book so much; it is hilarious.rn Sat 22nd Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 10

unaisah from Globe Academy Primary said:

I like this book because fizzlebert stump is really funny also I have voted for this bookrn Tue 18th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 10

unaisah from Globe Academy Primary said:

i love this book because it has different moments/events like when they said in the book that fizzelbert stump was really upset when he found out that his 'friends' laughed realy hard about his name Tue 18th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 10

Kyra from Peter Hills C of E Primary School said:

This book was amusing and made me laugh at most times , it's the type of book that you want to continue reading even if you are tired , Fizzlebert Stump is like so many amzing books rolled into one. At times the book can be a little bit uninteresting , the book is very addictive and i really liked it. Fizzlebert was my favourite character and was very unusual and unique , he stands out the most out of all the characters. I would definetly recommend it to a friend. Tue 18th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 9

Millie from Peter Hills C of E Primary School said:

I think this book was very interesting because of the language was hilarious. I liked the way the characters are described but the ending let the book down in a way that it was quite sudden. Compared to the rest of the books this book was the best because most of the other books were not very apealing to other readers. Tue 18th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 9

Dani from Peter Hills C of E Primary School said:

My favourite character is Fizzlebert because he realises things late and that makes his character funny. I liked the part when Fizzlebert put his own head in a Tiger. I disliked one of the gran's because she was very rude and her hand very filthy. I would not recommend this book because it wasn't one of the most intersting books in the world. Tue 18th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 5

Margret from Peter Hills C of E Primary School said:

I thought that the book was awesome. It had a sort of a childish factor to it and grow up way as well. On the other hand it was a bit dead in some places. Tue 18th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 8

Ella from Peter Hills C of E Primary School said:

I liked it very much because I found it very funny . My favourite character was fizzlebert stump because I thought he was very unique. It was one of the best books I have read. Although what i thought could of been improved was that sometimes the auther was trying to be funny and it bit stupid . Tue 18th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 9

Megan from Bacon's College said:

I think fizzle stump is a humourous book that will make you laugh. At the beginning I didn’t understand it at all but as the pages went I started to quite understand what’s going on. I wouldn’t say that this is my favourite book. But overall my favourite character is Fizzleburt because even though people laugh at his name he is still a brave character. I would give this book a 6 out of 10 because I found this book a bit boring and I’m not quit into these kind of books that are humourouss and also because it was a bit hard to understand at the start and found the characters weird. Mon 17th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 6

Hameed from Globe Academy said:

At first i thought this was boring but however as i read throw it started getting intreging and also very funny.I LAUGHED at almost all of the funny jokes in the book.It was hulerious.The was totally fun to read.If i had a chance i would read this book again and again.This book contains clowns , sea lions ,strong man and others. The book start of with narater which discribes the whole book. Iwould recommend this book for many people a lot of sence of huma. rnrnrn ......... rn Fri 14th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 9

Nyah from Globe Academy said:

Fizzlebert stump was an amazing book when you put it down to the story line.it was absoloutly fantastic the author of this book he uses his own voice to hook our mind into the story this is actually quite affective however i believe that this was done too much as the author often would just speak to us about the previous chapter for an entire page.At times i had to skip a WHOLE PAGE this was quite annoying.On the contrary i really enjoyed the story and i think it sends out a strong message to all children you just don't know who you can trust in this world! Fri 14th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 9

Abdirahman from Globe Academy said:

My best part was when Tom and Fizzle run out of the school and the security caught them, he took them them to Mr Stink throttle and he gave them a severe punishment actually kind of STUPID. He locked them in to a small room , the room was set up buy a timing STINK BOMB. Fri 14th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 10

Tahirul from Grange Primary School said:

Fizzleburt Stump is a very interesting book filled with comedy. The author A.F Harrold really incorporates fun in this novel. Fizzlebert Stump is a book about a boy whose parents work in the circus. He feels lonely as he is the only child in the circus so one day he joins the library. Fizzlebert Stump is a suitable book for children all ages a bit like Diary of a Wimpy Kid. I found the book enjoyable and eye catching. I recommend it to children ages 6/12 and adults of all ages. FANTASTIC BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!! read Fri 14th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 8

Esther from Grange Primary School said:

I love this book by A.F HARROLD because it is really funny and it teaches you a lesson that you should not go anywhere by yourself and do not talk to strangers and things happen surprisingly that I did not know would happen. If it was marked out of 100 I would give it 1000 because that is how incredible it is. This book is about a boy his name is Fizzlebert Stump and he is not an ordinary boy because he lives in a circus. Fri 14th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 10

Tahirul from Grange Primary School said:

This book was really good! Also this book was quite funny. I would also like to read other books that are as amazing as this one!!! Fri 14th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 8

Evelyn from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

At first I didn’t like this book but as I continued reading it I’ve grown very fond of it. This book is about a boy called Fizzlebert who just wanted to live a ‘’normal life’’ but he couldn’t because he lived in a circus, YES A CIRCUS! His mum’s a clown and his dad is the strong man, Fizz did not go to a regular school, he was taught by people in the circus and he hated that, but what can he do? One day some kids were messing around the trailers and Fizz wanted to make friend with them so he tried to, but when he told them his name was Fizzlebert Stump they laughed at him. One of them dropped his book whilst walking off and Fizz did not know what to do and asked a friend and he said take it to the library which he did, however he wanted a library card so an old couple helped him and then kidnapped him. You have to read it to find out more… all I can say is, there was a plan, it could have worked… but it could have not… Thu 13th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 8

Menbere from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

This book is very interesting and easy to read. I had a lot of fun reading it. Thu 13th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 7

Tishalina from Notre Dame R C Secondary School said:

The book was good because it also taught children something. Very interesting and very enjoyable to read. Thu 13th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 8

Eunice from St John's RC Primary School, St Elmos Rd said:

I really like Fizzlebert as he doesnt really know much about reality because he lives in a circus, he is a bit of an idiot and doesnt make the right decisions. He picks up adult atitudes. Wed 12th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 7

Akogun from St John's RC Primary School, St Elmos Rd said:

FizzleBert Stump. The book I like most was the boy who ran away from the circus to join the library. This book had an hilarious story line that made me want to read on. My personal favourite part of the book was when Fizz had friends but they were animals and could not speak human language. I like how the characters were portrayed in an amusing manner. Wed 12th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 9

Mason from St John's RC Primary School, St Elmos Rd said:

I disliked this book because it didn't build up to anything. However, this book was quite funny. My favourite character in this book was Fizzlebert because he was funny and brave. Wed 12th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 7

Ayaan from Harris Academy Bermondsey said:

Fizzlebert Stump is an interesting character. He is brave and intelligent considering he has been in a circus all his life. First of all I thought the book was very boring as it started off with too much description and not enough of the story(though some people would like that). The thing that I like about the book is that it is very engaging with the reader. It brings you in and makes you feel as if you are part of the story. Towards the end it started getting interesting. if I hadn't been told to read it I wouldn't of been bothered. Overall it was a good book although I would of preferred if it was straight to the point.Thank you. Sun 9th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 7

Chelsea from Globe Academy said:

fizzleburt stump is a very intresting book filled with comedy. The author A.F Harold really incorpirates fun in this novel.Fizzleburt stump is a book about a boy who's parents work in the circus. he feels lonley as he is the only child in the circus so one day he joins the libary. fizzlebert stump is a suitable book for children all ages a bit like diary of a wimpy kid. i find the book enjoyable and eye catching. i recomend it to children and adults of all ages. FANTASTIC BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!! read it Fri 7th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 7

Samiha from Globe Academy Primary said:

Fizzlebert Stump is a really amazing book it is really funny. It is about a boy called Fizzlebert that gets bullied because of his name. I think he is a really brave character because he doesnt really care if he is bullied . Thu 6th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 8

unaisah from Globe Academy Primary said:

i feelsorry for fizzlebert when the kids laugh at his name Thu 6th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 10

Imran from Globe Academy Primary said:

Fizzlebert stumps is a book about a boy called fizzlebert who is tired of being in the circus and wants to join the libary.rnI enjoyed this book especially the start when fizzlebert had to do the stunt where he had to put his mouth in the lions mouth.rnI reccommend this book for people who like comedy. Thu 6th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 9

Finley from Bacon's College said:

I loved this book I found it marvellous and it tickled my funny bone. I really liked the plot of the story too. Fish the sea lion was my favourite character as he saved the day and was sooooooooooo cute!!! I loved this book loads and was for me a real page turner that I could not put down. I recomend this book to you it is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Wed 5th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 10

Timothy from Bacon's College said:

My favourite character in the book is Doctor Surprise because he was a funny looking guy with a strange body shape. Another thing about him is because in the book you will find out that he can read minds. In my opinion I think this is completely atrocious book and a disappointment because when I started reading it I wanted go to sleep. It's like when you look at the cover it is multicoloured with all interesting events. However as soon as you open the book you are totally disillusioned. rnIn the book to author will add a lot of comments that remind you about silly and unimportant things.rn Wed 5th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 1

Bernard from Bacon's College said:

Fizzleberts stump is a very unique book I have read because not many children spend there days as a circus act or do not go to school. Further the author really described how depressing and how lonely fizz felt without friends or company but realises how tough it is to have friends that tease you. rn Wed 5th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 10

Jay from Bacon's College said:

This book was absoluety marvellous. its a really great book. I love how smart Fizzlebert Stump is and the sea lion how it found a scent of Fizzlebert. It is a great story especially the end part it was making my heart beat twice as fast because of when Fizzlebert was in the bedroom and was looking for a key and he tricked the old man, but the part in this story i didn't like was when the author was putting in speech about the last paragraph it was really unnecessary but overall it is a really good story. Wed 5th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 8

Rory from Bacon's College said:

Too silly. The idea of a kid running away from a circus is OK, but the drawings and the characters were a bit too silly. I'm not one for comedic/silly books so this wasn't the best. Sorry author.rnrnThe language wasn't the best also -- not very complex. Better language & less silly would add on a few point out of 10.rnrnBut it is imaginative. Good work on that.rnrn4/10 Wed 5th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 4

Jean-Paul from Bacon's College said:

What I thought about Fizzlebert stump was that it was very childish and very short. It lacked at my level of reading and ther should be more big words. On the other hand what I did like about it was that the author tried to make funny even though soetimes it was not, I really thought that when the author put things in brackets it bwas pretty clever but I really did not like any of the characters because they where too childish. IT WAS TERRIBLE Wed 5th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 2

wangyung from Bacon's College said:

My favorite character is Dr surprise because he is very intelligent and knows a lot of magic tricks to astonish the audience. The book is very enjoyable from the ages of 7. This book is really unique in it's on way because the writer talks to you in brackets. No other book does that except for this one. Tue 4th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 7

Sebastian M from Bacon's College said:

I found this book a page turner as the plot was really good and it really explained how his troubles started. I also liked how the author added his own opinions into the book by putting it into brackets; I really liked the technique that he used. I was not really taken into by some of the characters in the book as they were not realistic and was really unimpressive. I give this a 5/10 because I really enjoyed reading this book and the plot of it I really thought-provoking as it is based on real life problems. Tue 4th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 5

Yasmin from Bacon's College said:

Fizzlebert Stump has the life that no other child has. He lives in a weird circus with his Mum (a clown) and his Dad (the strong man), and doesn’t go to a normal school like every other average kid because he lives in a circus. He’s home-schooled by many older members of the circus that teach him anything they know of! Fizzlebert Stump is a fun and amazing book, that anyone can have a laugh, engage in and enjoy! It is a silly, ridiculous yet very interesting to read. Some quite strange, weird and odd characters such as Fizzlebert himself bring you to the happy jolly place of the circus! Indeed A.F Harold has yet again written a brilliant children’s’ book. This book is pretty good and honestly deserves 8 out of 10. Tue 4th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 8

Jasmine from Bacon's College said:

I did not like this book. I found it boring and not very exciting, and the comments made by the author in the book were irritating and unnecessary. However, it was simple and easy to read and the overall way it was written was generally good. I didn't like the descriptions in the story as they pointed out very obvious things about the characters. At some points in the story the author repeated what he had said previously. On the other hand, I liked the character Fish, the Sealion because his personality stood out in a good way from the story and I enjoyed reading the description of him. Overall, I did not like the story very much. Tue 4th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 3

Hakeem from Bacon's College said:

The reason why i gave this book a rating of 3 because this book was very annoying due to the fact of the narrators comment. I don't mind the random comments but the way he placed it in the middle of the sentence which annoyed me. I like the mysterious old couple because they helped the kid to become a librarian but in the end they turned out to be a mean old couple. I was hoping this book was going to be a very funny book because the other book shrunk wasn't hilarious at all but instead there was no humour. Tue 4th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 3

taylor from Bacon's College said:

I personally think that the boo fizzlebert stump was a bit boring and very annoying ,the way he kept adding on little comments about oviboius things such as, ' the sea lion could not catch the ball because he had flippers , and who dosn't know that. Also sometimes the author kept on trying to be funny when actually he just sounded a bit stupid. Tue 4th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 3

Debbie from Bacon's College said:

Fizzlebert Stump is a book that will make you laugh for days , filled many jokes and very strange scenarios , the book itself is actually written quite badly as there are constant moments where we embark on thoughts from the author which I personally found quite irritating.rnrnMy favorite character was Fizz due to his lack of wit and common sense most of the time he was quite confused but this made the book better. The beginning of the book is interesting all the way through to the end. I would certainly recommend it to a friend. Tue 4th Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 8

Sebastian from Bacon's College said:

This book I didn't find it very realistic because if I was in the circus I wouldn't join a library just for a book and I wouldn't let two old people, that I don't know push me around. A word for this book is weird, not weird in a scary but in not normal. My favourite character was Fizz because he was a bit funny and goofy. I like this book because it was sort of based in a circus, and I adore good circuses. In a nut shell I liked this book because of all the funny goofy things that were in it, I would give it a 6 out of 10. Mon 3rd Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 6

Andy from Bacon's College said:

In my opinion I found this book very tedious. The reason I thought it was tedious because the storyline went very slow and it wasn't as funny as I thought it would be. Futhermore the book made it as if a person was reading with me which was very annoying! It was one of the most boring book I have ever read. This was not my type of genre and would reccomend this to 5 years and below. rn Mon 3rd Jun 2013

Marks out of 10: 1

Latonia from Bacon's College said:

I found this book satisfactory because in the beginning this book wasn't as interesting or as funny as I thought it would be but was still hilarious! But I also thought it was quite earnest because every character was important. Even though Fizzleburt was the main character they still all linked. The narrator on the other hand to me was sometimes annoying because you just want to know what happens next. I enjoyed this book overall which is the reason why I would give it a 6. Thu 23rd May 2013

Marks out of 10: 6

Laura from Bacon's College said:

When I first started reading a few pages of ‘Fizzlebert Stump’ it was quite interesting and I thought it would be really enjoyable, but then once I got onto about the 3rd chapter it became really boring and predictable. The author’s side comments were quite funny at first and then they became a bit irritating and then it just got to the extent that they became EXTREMELY annoying. John F. Kennedy tried hard to try and make the book amusing but it really was not. To be honest, I didn't really have a preferred character as they were all a bit silly and the author didn't really do anything either to maintain the story line as there were many twists involved – especially in the middle section of the story – and it all got a bit confusing to be honest. This book is not really my type and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Tue 21st May 2013

Marks out of 10: 3

Nancy from Harris Academy Bermondsey said:

Well when I first started this book I was like oh yeah a boy RUNS AWAY FROM the circus, however when I was reading it I was feeling like there was not really any adventure. if I could change one thing I would make Fizzlebert have some friends and he runs away with them but gets attacked by man eating lions but because he has trained with them he knows what to do and he is a hero and joins the circus again that is why I gave it a 5 star. Mon 20th May 2013

Marks out of 10: 5

Peter from Bacon's College said:

I think this book is a OK book because it was very interesting and really funny but the narrator, (which was the person writing in the brackets), at some points it was funny but at some points it was annoying. I would recommend it to someone who like funny things. Thu 16th May 2013

Marks out of 10: 8

Amber from Bacon's College said:

This book was funny, and I had a fun time reading it. It was different, interesting and the story line was really good. When it got to the middle, there were loads of Cliffhangers. i liked the way every character was special and they all had very different persoanalities. Wed 15th May 2013

Marks out of 10: 10

Euan from Bacon's College said:

My favourite character was Charles the lion because everyone from the circus acted as if he was just a dog but everyone else is frightened to death of him.rnMy opinion on this book is negative. I didn’t find any humour that made me laugh out loud and I thought I would of seeing the front cover. rn Tue 14th May 2013

Marks out of 10: 1

Jade from Bacon's College said:

This book not as exceptional as it's made out to be on the book. It wasn't very funny and was mostly fantasized the whole way through, which I don't enjoy. Fizzlebert was a strange character and hard to interact with because the book was written in third person. I found it irritating when during the chapters there was brackets inside of brackets, inside of another set of brackets. It was confusing and hard to read. Overall I give it a 3 out of 10 because it was could be thrilling at times when the crazed pensioners were being horrible to Kevin and Fizz but it was not a book I would ever read twice. Sun 12th May 2013

Marks out of 10: 3

Tamzin from Bacon's College said:

I don’t usually tend to like the books genre as I find them boring and I thought that this book was quite boring at first but then it gets a bit interesting. My favourite characters are Mr. and Mrs. stinkthrottle as they seem to be nice and willing to help but in they turn to evil. They make Fizzleburt (the main character) pretend to be their grandchild which helped him to as he needed a library card but he couldn’t ask his parents to fill out the form as he hadn’t told them that he was going to the library. In the end he ends up kidnapped otherwise Mr. and Mrs. Stinkthrottle will tell the librarian that he had lied. Overall I think the book is a little hilarious which is why I rate this book 8/10. Thu 9th May 2013

Marks out of 10: 8

Ginee from Bacon's College said:

I think that this book is a book that isn’t that entertaining but it isn’t boring either. I say this because some parts of the book are interesting and gives you the impression of a character but in a good way. My favourite character in this book is Mrs Stinkthrottle because she changes how she acts really quickly and she is an interesting character. I also think that Mrs Stinkthrottle is a person that uses her age to make people believe her like in the part of the book where she was shouting out that Fizzleburt and Kevin were thieves, then telling the people who had stopped Fizzleburt and Kevin that they were her grandchildren! I think that the reason she uses her age is because she knows that people will think she can’t do anything because she is old and looks weak. Thu 9th May 2013

Marks out of 10: 5

Simon from Bacon's College said:

Fizzlebert Stump is a very imaginative book. I thought that it was very funny and weird book. It features loveable, funny and just plain random characters which will make you laugh out loud, including Mr and Mrs Stinkthrottle, whose house is so dirty the council has issued a decree about it, and Fizzlebert himself, whose parents run a circus. Overall, I would rate this book a 9/10 because although it is short and very weird, it was a good book overall. Wed 8th May 2013

Marks out of 10: 9

Vanessa from Harris Academy Bermondsey said:

I really enjoyed reading the book 'Fizzlebert Stump'. At first I wasn't quite excited to read this book because I extremely wanted to read 'Homeless', however there weren't anymore books. When I got home I started reading straight away. I read a few pages and I found out that the book was actually really funny and interesting. I would definitely recommend this book to a friend. Tue 7th May 2013

Marks out of 10: 5

Naomi on Fizzlebert Stump: The Boy Who Ran Away From the Circus (and Joined the Library):

I thought this book was very interesting because it had lots of very unusal things in it. First of all , there is a boy called Fizzleburt Stump and he lives in a circus with his mum and dad but I don'...

Read more...

Animoto 2013

Animoto